XL 335S - Edit/view street address

Preview
XL 335S - Edit/view street address

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm new to GPS and have a question about my XL 335S that I bought about a month ago. I used the GPS once a few weeks ago for a trip. Today, I finally got around to hooking it up to the computer and downloading a free map upgrade that was available. While poking around with the unit, I realized I could not see the street address that I keyed in on my favorites. I found that you can edit the name of the favorite, but I see no way to edit or even view the address. I read another thread that suggested using the POI instead but I still don't see a way to edit or view the street address. That seems crazy to me. Am I missing something? Since this is a navigation device, why in the world would you not be able to view or edit the address?

Secondly, as I said, I am new to GPS and have only used my device on one trip a few weeks ago. I don't recall for sure, but I thought I remembered seeing the street addresses on the screen when I arrived at my destination. Is that true? Sitting here at my PC, my screen just shows street names and no addresses but then again, I am not on a route. I ran a sample route through the demo program and didn't' see the street address there either. Again, am I missing something?

Why are the street addresses so secretive? I guess I am used to computers, cell phones, pda contact lists where addresses are readily available. I would think GPS units would be no different. I would be grateful if anyone can shed some light on this subject for me.

Thank you

Welcome to TTF.

You are not missing anything regarding Favourites. That is a weakness of the function such that when you make a favourite and it gives you the option to rename it, such as 'Good restaurant', then that is all that shows in the list.

This might be of help: