Tripmaster question

I'm new to both GPS and Tripmaster. I need a log to keep mileage for the IRS and thought Tripmaster would be a good option. What is the best type of log to keep and where are the logs located? How do they get from the TomTom to the computer? Is it done automatically or do I need to do something?

(Guess that's more than one question. :))

Thank you in advance.

First I think we need to make sure that the product will do as you need, and understand how to get it to do that for you.

As best I can tell, you're attempting to use this to log mileage from point to point to point. The logging function of Tripmaster is really designed as a "track log", recording points every so often to produce a track of your travel to (perhaps) be viewed on a map later). However, there's a manual way to mark a point, and as it happens, it will give intermediate mileage in the process. With "autologging" off, I believe that means that the entire log will contain only the manual points when you trigger them to be recorded. Review the following in the on-line docs and see if this will work for you:

Reset the intermediate trip

When clicking on the distance zone of the distances (lower right corner), you reset the intermediate trip. If the tracking logs are active, a tracking point with the current mileage of the intermediate trip is recorded.

As for where things are stored, the "general" log of your trip is called tripsummary.log and winds up in the /tripmaster folder.

Track logs, which would contain your manually triggered point data, are stored in the /itn folder. The format of that data depends upon how you've chosen to have it stored.

I don't know if you spotted the way to get the English docs from that site, but here's the link:

Le Web Bazar !!! Tripmaster !!!