TomTom Start - Audible speed warning?

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    I purcghased a TomTom Start and was assure it would give an audible alarm if the speed was exceeded. It shows the speed limit and the speed I am doing and they go red if i exceed the limit. The TomTom Start does not make an sound. :mad:

    Can I turn the sound on? :D

    If not what is the next cheapest model that does have speed exceeded sound? :eek:

    Many thanks in anticipation :)
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 21, 2011
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 24, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Under options, does it show Enable Safety Alerts or Disable Safety Alerts? It should say DISABLE (meaning they ARE enabled).

    Manual says this:

    When a safety camera location is shown on the map, a warning sound is played to warn you that you are approaching an area where a safety camera
    is located
    .
    dhn, Mar 24, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 24, 2011
    #3
  4. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    I think you need a full menu model for that and, as far as I can tell, the 540 XXL seems to be the only offering with that in Australia but the OZ site shows no price for that model. It will be a fair amount more than the Start, though.

    Think you find the option under Safety Preferences-->Warn when driving faster than allowed.

    As I said, this functionality is NOT in the EasyMenu models.
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
    dhn, Mar 24, 2011
    #4
  5. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    Many thanks for your efforts. I will take back the TomTom Start and exchange it for a TomTom XXL 540 based on the TomTom not being suitable for my verbal contract with the salesman.
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 24, 2011
    #5
  6. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    I think you'll be happier.

    When you get the new unit, make an Explorer, not Home backup of the unit's contents and register it with a different email address than the one registered for the Start. Doesn't even have to be a real address, just in the proper aaa@bbb.com.
    dhn, Mar 24, 2011
    #6
  7. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    Hi

    I purchased a TomTom One XL

    I worked great.

    I made an Explorer, not Home backup of the unit's contents.

    I installed TomTom HOME and upgraded it to 2.8 and it said I needed to upgrade the unit.

    I did this and it failed to copy all the files to the hard drive and thus did not install it. Now the unit did not work.

    I deleted the files from the hard drive and it still did not copy the files to it.

    Now it does not work ... any ideas?

    Regards

    Geoffrey
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 25, 2011
    #7
  8. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    What files are you referring to that you were trying to copy to the computer?

    Since you say you made an Explorer backup, can you restore it to the unit?
    dhn, Mar 25, 2011
    #8
  9. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    I installed TomTom HOME and upgraded it.

    It asked me to upgrade the TomTom and during doing that this error ooccurred:

    Error writing file F:\antitheftw.bmp Report incident ID: 36829516

    ERROR: HomeBase/IO: Error writing file: F:\antitheftw.bmp
    @ .\portable\cfile.cpp(1947)
    0000045D
    in .\portable\cfile.cpp:1947
    Stack:
    0. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/commit.js:82
    error(textOrException);
    1. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1061
    this._commitFailed(i, commitPage);
    2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:79
    return func.apply(obj, arguments);
    3. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:77
    this._errorCallback(e);
    4. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:69
    this._errorFatal(error);

    Time: Fri, 25 Mar 2011 07:50:39 GMT

    Screen dumps are here

    http://tinyurl.com/errorimages
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 25, 2011
    #9
  10. Geoffrey_Nash

    Geoffrey_Nash

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    Sorry ...

    I did try to restore files from backup and they too failed to write the TomTom hard drive.

    I am running windows 7 64 bit. Does that matter?
    Geoffrey_Nash, Mar 25, 2011
    #10
  11. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Shouldn't.

    When you say they fail to write to the unit, what is happening or not happening?

    You can format the unit. Don't use quickformat. Then try restoring your Explorer backup. Should work.
    dhn, Mar 25, 2011
    #11
  12. Geoffrey_Nash

    tonia

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Start Australia & TomTom GO730
    I know I am late to the party but I had a similar problem and found that the software for the XL was incompatible with the start model and had to go thru and find the files from the old TT and totally manually remove them to enable the new TT to work...irritating but at least it works now.
    tonia, Apr 21, 2011
    #12
  13. Geoffrey_Nash

    forester

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    forest of dean UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    700, 1005 and 825
    I too am finding it very difficult to set our 825 and 1005 (which is being repaired for the fourth time) so that they warn us if we go over the speed limit it was simple before updates.:confused:
    forester, Jun 16, 2012
    #13
  14. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Safety settings-->Warn when driving faster than allowed.

    The next screen should be one with various sounds. Upgraded applications change the sound you selected back to Silent! :rant:

    But you can reselect the sound you want in that screen.

    At least, that's how things are supposed to be. Is that not the case with your device?
    dhn, Jun 16, 2012
    #14
  15. Geoffrey_Nash

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    The bug where you couldn't get to the screen to set the sound effect should have been fixed by now, but if you are still struggling, try this:

    1. Go to settings / Safety settings
    2. Find the option "Warn when driving faster than allowed".
    3. If it is ticked, UN-TICK it (if not, go to step 6)
    4. Tap "Next"
    5. Tap "Previous"
    6. Now TICK that "Warn when driving faster than allowed" option again
    7. Tap "Next"

    Hopefully you should now get the "extra" screen where you get to choose the sound effect for overspeed warnings.

    (As canderson says, several of the recent software updates reset it to "silence")
    Andy_P, Jun 18, 2012
    #15
  16. Geoffrey_Nash

    cpetitclerc73

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Start
    I have a Tom Tom Start and there is no option under Options / Safety Settings. My previous Go630 and 720 both had audible warnings for speeding and safety cameras. My TomTom Start just shows a red visual bar when speeding. I just added safety cameras in Tom Tom Home. It was greyed out before and not able to select in the options.
    cpetitclerc73, Sep 7, 2013
    #16
  17. Geoffrey_Nash

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,099
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    dhn, Sep 7, 2013
    #17
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Saiya
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,889
    mikealder
    Jul 11, 2009
  2. pr200

    GO730 No Audible warning tones

    pr200, Mar 12, 2011, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,734
    pr200
    Mar 13, 2011
  3. GPSNZ

    audible noise for over speed.

    GPSNZ, Jan 10, 2012, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    776
    Andy_P
    Jan 10, 2012
  4. peten44

    audible warning lost

    peten44, Mar 2, 2012, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    868
    peten44
    Mar 2, 2012
  5. careh
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,341
    Andy_P
    Apr 16, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page