TomTom One IQ Routes wont work

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by phill1816, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. phill1816

    phill1816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    england
    TomTom Model(s):
    One iq routes
    Hi

    I have had this device for about 2 years now but for some reason it wont turn on. It turned itself off mid journey when i turned the ignition off to get some petrol.

    I have tried the reset method of hold the button for 15-20 seconds and i have also ensured it was fully charged before doing this.

    I am not stuck as what to do next in order to get it up and running again, any suggestions please?

    Thanks
     
    phill1816, Feb 16, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. phill1816

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,318
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    Do you happen to have a mains charger you can use for the unit and see if it turns on then?
     
    dhn, Feb 16, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. phill1816

    phill1816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    england
    TomTom Model(s):
    One iq routes
    I dont have a mains charger no
     
    phill1816, Feb 16, 2012
    #3
  4. phill1816

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,318
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    What makes you think the battery was fully charged prior to this happening?
     
    dhn, Feb 16, 2012
    #4
  5. phill1816

    phill1816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    england
    TomTom Model(s):
    One iq routes
    It was plugged into the car charger while in use and i have also had it plugged in via USB and charging.
     
    phill1816, Feb 16, 2012
    #5
  6. phill1816

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,318
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    A green light on the unit doesn't necessarily indicate charging, just power going to the unit.

    Anyway, when you say it won't turn on, are you saying it won't boot up at all (screen remains black, no sounds) or that it won't complete the boot process to the normal driving screen?

    When you connect it to the computer, the unit is recognized as an external drive, right?
     
    dhn, Feb 16, 2012
    #6
  7. phill1816

    phill1816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    england
    TomTom Model(s):
    One iq routes
    No the computer isnt recognising it either. The screen stays black and does nothing when trying to turn on.
     
    phill1816, Feb 16, 2012
    #7
  8. phill1816

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,318
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    You may be faced with the decision of getting the unit repaired at a satnav repair shop or buying a new unit.

    Try holding the power button again for 30 seconds or so. And try charging it via the computer overnight. I don't know what else to suggest.
     
    dhn, Feb 16, 2012
    #8
  9. phill1816

    phill1816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    england
    TomTom Model(s):
    One iq routes
    I left it on charge all night and still no joy (mains charging). Triued reset aswell, still nothing. What do you recommend? a new unit or repair? Could i end up paying as much for a repair as i would for the existing model new?
     
    phill1816, Feb 17, 2012
    #9
  10. phill1816

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    At a guess the car charger feedback wire has broken and sent 12V in to the unit, this fries one of the diodes inside the TomTom and they don't power up after this, but you do get the green LED lit, it is fixable IF it's only the diode thats blown, if the overvolt condition lasted for more than a few milli-seconds then most of the chips within the unit will be fried - Mike
     
    mikealder, Feb 17, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. KC2IFR

    Numbers wont work

    KC2IFR, Jun 4, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    713
    Nexus
    Jun 7, 2009
  2. jtseery
    Replies:
    72
    Views:
    23,700
  3. jolenebb

    tomtom 510 wont work at all

    jolenebb, Sep 3, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    3,375
    jemmarsh
    Sep 26, 2009
  4. dcdd1

    TomTom wont work when i switch ignition of car on?

    dcdd1, Mar 16, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    3,544
    canderson
    Sep 22, 2013
  5. mnavarra

    TomTom iPhone Car Kit - Why it wont work...

    mnavarra, Apr 20, 2011, in forum: Mobile Navigation
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,666
    mikealder
    Apr 21, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page