Please help (severe firmware problem)

Hi! It's my first time here so please be gentle. I just recently purchased a TomTom GO 720. It worked perfectly fine on the way home, and also when I updated it by attaching it to my PC. But when I detached it, things started going horribly wrong. Basically, I think it is bricked; when I turn the thing on, it stays at the beginning screen forever :(. Is there any way to do a physical restore (i.e. reset to factory defaults)? For future reference, is there any way to reset TomTom to factory defaults in case I do something silly? I did back it up (I did that immediately) but I can't use the restore if it can't even connect to the PC! :(

I tried resetting it, but it is still stuck on the initial screen ... I don't know what else I can do. What I really need is for the reset button to also purge the device of all data so I can do a full reinstall, but it seems it doesn't do that.

I'll try going back to the store (it was bought today, so it's literally less than a day old, surely I can get a replacement for that case) but I was hoping maybe someone here knows how to get this thing working again? Thanks in advance...

EDIT: I might as well ask this, even though my TomTom is kaput: I tried to download the free map from the Latest Map Guarantee, and it seems that it gets to 99% and stops, with an error saying "Internal Server Error". Is there any bypass to this? Why is this happening? I already sent an email to customer service, maybe they'll know, but once again I'm trying everywhere.

Last edited:
Chill, take a deep breath, count to ten and call TomTom Support, I had the new update on Wed. and mine would not go pass the start splash screen. Fernando walked me through using updates from tomTom site it took about twebty minutes and now I am working fine. Due to their clitch the restore would not work.

He said that support was receiving enormous amounts of "Help Me" today.