You can create your own splash screen.

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by TT_Go, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. TT_Go

    TT_Go

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V4
    You can use your favourite picture to create your own Tomtom GPS splash screen! Sounds very cool, huh? Actually it's very easy.

    Step 1:
    Pick your own picture. Basicaly it can be any kind of format and for the size bigger is better.

    Step 2:
    Open your picture with Photoshop or whatever photo editor; rotate your picture Clockwize 90 degrees.

    Step 3:
    Change the size of your picture according to what kind of Tomtom device do you have:
    Tomtom One, Go 300, 500, and 700: 240 width x 320 height (image size should be 225kb)
    Tomtom Go 510, 710, 910, and Rider: refer to the size of splash screen currently used in the device

    Step 4:
    Save the edited picture onto your desktop as *.bmp format.

    Step 5:
    Connect your Tomtom to your PC and remove the current "splash.bmp" or just rename it with some other name if you still want to keep it; drag the created "*.bmp" picture into the Tomtom root folder, and rename it as "splash.bmp" (has to be all lowercase).

    Step 6:
    Disconnect your Tomtom from your PC and turn it on; the new splash screen should show up!

    (copy it from the other GPS forum)
     
    TT_Go, Sep 19, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TT_Go

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TT_Go

    JJM

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for thew info....

    Very Kwel... added my own splash.....
     
    JJM, Sep 19, 2007
    #3
  4. TT_Go

    TT_Go

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V4
    TT_Go, Sep 19, 2007
    #4
  5. TT_Go

    rvtips

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, It worked great.
    Is the splash screen supposed to come on when you turn it off also?
    Phil

     
    rvtips, Sep 19, 2007
    #5
  6. TT_Go

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You can change the shut down image by following the same steps but change the file name as suspend.bmp
     
    digital-flex, Sep 19, 2007
    #6
  7. TT_Go

    Balthazar_B

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about the GO 720/920 (or NavCore 7)? Do all these tips still apply?
     
    Balthazar_B, Sep 21, 2007
    #7
  8. TT_Go

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Well for the 720, since it has a photo viewer, you should be able to change the splash screen by choosing the specific image you like from the viewer.

    For the suspend screen, the rules should still apply.
     
    digital-flex, Sep 21, 2007
    #8
  9. TT_Go

    tuc1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Just curious. I changed my splash screen and for some reason every time I turn the unit off, it doesn't show the original shut down any more. I was wondering how I would fix that.

     
    tuc1, Dec 17, 2007
    #9
  10. TT_Go

    Three3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    New London, NH
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE V2
    TomTom appears to have changed the name of the shutdown image to antitheft.bmp in the recent updates.
     
    Three3, Dec 17, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.