XL335SE-TM - Is there a way to change a planned route?

Hello-

I am new to TomTom and just received my XL335SE. Map updates and everything installed fine for me. My issue is that I am planning a trip and would like to travel a specific route, and it is not the shortest way to get to my destination. When I have TomTom plan my route it takes me a completely different way. My old GPS allowed me to drag my route line on the map to the road I wanted to travel, then readjusted my directions from there.

Is there a way to get the XL335SE to accept my changes to the route it plans for me.

Also, my other GPS allowed me to program multiple "vias", or stops along the way. The XL335SE looks like a "single starting point" and "single destination" system. The instructions I received in the box were not very in depth and from playing with the route planner on the website, I can't find a way to change things once they are calculated.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I hope to take my new TomTom on vacation in 3 weeks.

THANKS!

Your model comes with EasyMenu and has greatly reduced user flexibility, including the lack of itinerary planning. Once a route is planned, you can select Travel Via on that model but can only choose one point.

You can add more flexibility to that model by creating a custom menu. See here

Thanks much!! I'll give this a try.

If I am not satisfied with the results, is there another model TomTom that includes some itinerary planning? Also can you tell me it this is the only model that offers the Free Maps for Life? That feature alone is why I chose TomTom over my old GPS manufacturer.
Thanks again... I'll let you know how I make out.

Thanks much!! I'll give this a try.

If I am not satisfied with the results, is there another model TomTom that includes some itinerary planning?