XL Live IQ Routes How to get Europe Map

Sorry if there are very simple answers to this but I'm new to SatNAvs

I've got an XL Live IQ Routes that came with a map of the UK. I want to use it in Europe and understand I need the Western Europe Map which is 1.972GB. The XL Live has 2GB internal memory and no expansion slot. So:

If I download the Western Europe Map will it fit?
Does it over write the UK map?
Will it still give the same detail of coverage in the UK as the UK only map I have at the moment?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to TTF.

The newest European maps (complete) don't fit on units less than 2 gigs in size so you will be offered Zones to download and install (like Europe_West) containing all the detail for the UK & ROI you currently have as well as other countries such as Italy and France.

If you need to go to Germany, for example, you'll need to download a different European zoned map. (all zones included in the update) but just downloaded individually to the computer & installed on the unit as needed.

Thanks dhn for your response.

How do I find out which countries feature in particular zones ?

My concern is needing to use the TT to get to the airport in the UK and then from the airport when I arrive in my destination. If the map zone doesn;t cover my home and destination countries am I going to have to connect to a PC and download another zone before I can get directions?:confused:

See some info here:
Map zones

And yes, if you are travelling, say, to Germany, you'll either need to have installed that zone map on the unit before you left home or have a notebook with you with the maps installed there, ready to swap to the unit as needed.

Nice, eh? :(

See some info here:
Map zones(

I have pointed people to that page for more info too....

But I've now realised that it shows FIVE little maps, and I think if you try to buy the latest mapping you're only offered FOUR zones.
Has anyone found anywhere with the exact coverage maps shown?