Workaround device for failed power button rejects SD maps

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Twaine, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. Twaine

    Twaine

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go XL
    Hello again!

    My work around to the cheap power button disabling my device involved an EBay purchase of a used TomTom One XL for the same countries: US/Canada, but it also has Guam on the built in HD. (Previous owner did not use the SD.)

    The SD card from my original TomTom One XL had only US/Canada, but when the replacement OneXL is booted from the SD card, the device complains, "You cannot use this map on this device".
    (It also forces me to reenter the startup options as if they're not being saved, regardless of the SD.)

    While this message was found in other threads, one using an existing SD boot card with the same maps could not be found.

    Does anyone know a work around to this specific issue in RED?

    ie.
    1) Can a config file be tweaked to accept my likely newer US/Canada maps?
    2) Can I also keep the Guam maps owned by the first owner?
    (I have numerous entries on MY version of the map file so I'm desperately attempting to not have to switch.)

    A complete Exporer style backup of both devices was done, and I AM technical, but know not this device at that level.

    Thanks very much if you have any data/links on this problem!

    Regards,
    T
     
    Twaine, Sep 25, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Twaine

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,488
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If you are trying to use your original maps in the newly obtained device, you'll get the message since your original maps were locked to the faulty device.
     
    dhn, Sep 25, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Twaine

    Twaine

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go XL
    How does one use the 'new' US MAPS with the old SD card data?

    I wonder why a US/CANADA MAP would be different by a hardware device, but suspect it's more planned obsolesce.
     
    Twaine, Sep 26, 2016
    #3
  4. Twaine

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    The map purchased is tied into the device for which it is purchased.
    Being on an SD card is incidental.
    It will only work when inserted into the device in which it was installed when purchased.
     
    Arno, Sep 26, 2016
    #4
  5. Twaine

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535
    Fundamentally, it is a copy protection scheme. The device info is encoded on the card and it should work with no issues as long as the card is used on the same device. If the card is copied and an attempt is made to use it on a different device, it will fail.
    The downside of this is that if you have bought additional maps other than the "standard" one that comes with your GPS, and your GPS fails, you have maps that will not work in your replacement GPS.

    - Tom -
     
    - et -, Sep 28, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. OhNoItsMe

    TomTom 910 Power Button Question

    OhNoItsMe, Apr 4, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,242
    Pedro2NR
    Apr 4, 2007
  2. netarc

    Annoying power button

    netarc, Dec 8, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    924
    netarc
    Dec 8, 2007
  3. levatino
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,726
    daveschz
    Jun 12, 2008
  4. mistermonday

    Navcore 8 Changes Power Button

    mistermonday, Aug 15, 2008, in forum: Navcore
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    2,706
    mistermonday
    Aug 19, 2008
  5. adoy73

    Power Button

    adoy73, Aug 20, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,717
    canderson
    Sep 22, 2016
  6. hemy2000

    TomTom XL IQ PCB power button routing

    hemy2000, Aug 23, 2011, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,557
    hemy2000
    Aug 23, 2011
  7. Twaine

    Power Button Died- Planned Obsolescence?

    Twaine, Sep 21, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    575
  8. Enzito
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    890
    canderson
    Oct 31, 2016
Loading...