Won't switch on despite being charged?

Newbie here *waves*

Dad's just rung me up to say his TomTom One is playing up. He's had it on charge all day and when it's plugged in it works, but when he unplugs it he can't get it to switch on and work. Could this be his battery not holding charge or something else?

I am one of the very few who doesn't own a satnav so am completely clueless. Any help would be appreciated. He tells me he thinks it's the first edition tomtom one and is definitely out of warranty. He uses the satnav almost daily for his job as a van driver so the sooner I can get him sorted the better.

Thanking you all in advance. :)

Could be a couple things. Maybe hes not letting it charge long enough before unplugging it and trying. Maybe the battery is in fact actually dead or dying (there are actually ways to replace it even though it doesnt look possible).

It COULD even be a setting within the Tomtom. This is what I would check first. In my XL if I click Preferences > Brightness Preferences > Done . The first screen after that will make the screen turn off if the external power is lost. If you press done again. You have the option of totally turning the Tomtom off if external power is lost.

I would start there. Make sure the screen is set to always on, and the power off if external power is lost is unchecked...

Thanks CynicX

He'd had the tomtom on charge for 8 hours yesterday and at least 16 hours the day before and when it's switched on in the van he always plugs it in to charge. He very rarely uses it without it being on charge. I therefore think he is charging it enough before unplugging but will do no harm for me to just double check with him.

As for the brightness settings suggestion will check that for him. Any possibility is worth looking into.
As for a dying battery, are these easy and inexpensive to replace if that is the cause of his problems?