Won't format, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by pjigglez, May 30, 2011.

  1. pjigglez

    pjigglez

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey All! Would really appreciate some help on this.

    So I got a "could not delete data.chk" error. Did some research, tried to reformat in FAT with default settings. Progress went halfway then stopped. Now the reformat won't even start. I've left it going for an hour with no luck. Tried a bunch of other times, with different formats and sizes(FAT32), and even tried quick format. I really hope that I can still fix this TomTom, it's helped me through many a journey.

    I even tried switching the usb to a different port.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
    pjigglez, May 30, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. pjigglez

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,816
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I see it's your first post, so we could use some additional information.

    What model are you trying to format? WHY are you trying to format it? Do you have backup copies of your original 'situation' (especially the map folder) on your PC already?

    FWIW: the nominal format method is FAT32, NOT using QuickFormat, and be advised that none of the *.chk files on a TomTom are what Windows thinks they are. They're actually data files that happen to share the *.chk extension with Windows' way of naming file fragments it finds during chkdsk operations.

    Speaking of chkdsk ... it's time to run that on your TomTom (as soon as we know which one it is).
     
    canderson, May 30, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. pjigglez

    pjigglez

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    I have a TomTom XXL IQ Routes edition.

    It all started when I installed TomTom Home, tried to update, got the "couldn't delete data.chk" error. Then I began having the flashing red circle white x upon startup. Figured formatting would help. I ran chkdsk and all that.
     
    pjigglez, May 30, 2011
    #3
  4. pjigglez

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,816
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Ugh. One of my primary questions remains unanswered: what kind of backup do you have of your unit while it was still operational? PLEASE tell us you have a backup of your map folder somewhere.
     
    canderson, May 30, 2011
    #4
  5. pjigglez

    pjigglez

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sigh, my computer crashed, along with all the memory in it. I guess the TomTom is reduced to being a brick.
     
    pjigglez, Jun 5, 2011
    #5
  6. pjigglez

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Not necessarily...

    As you say it's an 'XXL IQ Routes' that sounds like you're from the UK?

    If so, you could send it back to TomTom for repair, as they seem more amenable to providing a repair service than TTdo in the States.

    Or you could continue trying to format it yourself (did you ever manage that?)
    We can then advise how to get everything else apart from the map back onto it via downloads from TomTom.

    But without a backup (unless you've bought a new map for it online in the last 12 months) you'll have to buy a new map.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
    Andy_P, Jun 6, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.