With I Have Enough Memory on Next Map Update

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by zengshengliu, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. zengshengliu

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    So I have a GO 600.
    On map 9.50, I have a free memory of ~250MB
    After the 9.55 update, I have a free memory of 98MB
    (I only have speed camera subscription, no other custom POI)

    I know its 3 months ahead, but will I need to purchase a SD card to prepare for the next map update?
     
    zengshengliu, Aug 17, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. zengshengliu

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    At the rate they are going, it won't surprise me if a full 9.60 doesn't break a few 8GB barriers. They're adding a lot of speed limits, mapping a lot of new mall and business parking lots, and keep adding those (silly) 3D buildings to more and more areas. At least 16GB Class 10 uSD cards are getting dirt cheap .. $10 or less in a lot of places for known brands (including Amazon for Sandisk).
     
    canderson, Aug 18, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. zengshengliu

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    I currently have a SanDisk Extreme Plus 32GB UHS Speed Class 1 sitting around. Will it work with the device?
     
    zengshengliu, Aug 18, 2015
    #3
  4. zengshengliu

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Chuckle -- that would be a 10, and it certainly will.
     
    canderson, Aug 18, 2015
    #4
  5. zengshengliu

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    Just came across something on TomTom website
    Note: As long as there is enough space in the internal memory of your navigation device, MyDrive Connect installs your map in that memory. If there is not enough space in the internal memory, MyDrive Connect lets you create free space in the internal memory or, if available, use a memory card installed in your device.
    So it appears that there is no way to force install on the SD card unless there is not enough room on internal, then it will install on SD
     
    zengshengliu, Aug 18, 2015
    #5
  6. zengshengliu

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yep.
     
    dhn, Aug 18, 2015
    #6
  7. zengshengliu

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    I just wondering what is using so many memory.
    8GB = 8,000,000,000 Byte ~ 7450 MB
    The map is using 6179MB, and the device is showing 6957MB used, 98MB free
    So the OS and favorites and speed cameras and mapshares add up to 6957-6179 = 778MB
    The total memory is 6957+98 = 7055MB, to technically its a 7GB device. So, why is it call 8GB device? If it is indeed a 8GB device, where did the extra 400MB go?
     
    zengshengliu, Aug 18, 2015
    #7
  8. zengshengliu

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    It needs 350 MB to do OS updates.
     
    Arno, Aug 18, 2015
    #8
  9. zengshengliu

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Indeed -- to keep from bricking a unit, once new firmware is uploaded to the unit, it is held there for validation before it is used to overwrite the current firmware.
     
    canderson, Aug 18, 2015
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.