Why do I have a 'called.txt' File?

Discussion in 'Bluetooth/Phone Connectivity' started by tom thumb, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. tom thumb

    tom thumb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom one v3
    I have a TomTom One v3 that has no bluetooth or any other way of making or receiving telephone calls, however I do have a /contacts/called.txt file that contains 5 telephone numbers, one is for a national railway enquiries number and the other 4 are telephone numbers that at locations within a mile or two of where I live (in the Midlands of the UK). So here's the question, how have these number got onto my TomTom?, I have never made or received calls to / from any of these numbers on any device and the only two-way contact the TomTom has with the outside world is when connected to the TomTom Home package on my laptop
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
    tom thumb, Aug 5, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tom thumb

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    1. Advertisements

  3. tom thumb

    tom thumb

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tom tom one v3
    Thanks for the reply, the link shows how to create your own contacts.txt file containing your phone numbers, however, I have owned the One v3 from new and no-one else has ever have access to it, I have not created this file, so it must have self-generated some how. I've noticed that some Points Of Interest, e.g. my local Mcdonalds has an address and a phone number as well as it's location on the display, I'm wondering if pulling up this info. adds the phone number to the called.txt list for some reason, it isn't of any use on this model as it doesn't have any phone capability, but I think that is where the list is coming from
     
    tom thumb, Aug 6, 2015
    #3
  4. tom thumb

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,224
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Even while you have no BT capability on that unit, when you bring up a POI, is there the option to TRY to place a call to the number associated with the POI? I'm wondering if by chance that had been poked accidentally a few times over the life of the unit.
     
    canderson, Aug 31, 2015
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.