Why did you choose TomTom over the others?

TomTom Model(s)
XL350TM
Just interested to know how you ended up w/ a TT? How about a brief intro of yourself and your present TT model, in addition to other model(s) you've considered before deciding upon the TT?

I'll start:
I'm a GPS newbie and the XL350TM is my first nav. I briefly considered the Garmin 1350T LMU as both have lifetime maps/traffic but got a better price for the TT and I liked the idea of Map Share, IQ Routes, more POIs and seemingly better customization.

My future son in law brought a TT with him into my car for a tricky journey through rural lanes. I was so impressed I immediately went out and bought a ONE.

When I got my iPhone a year ago, I considered buying the TT App but it was such a ridiculous price I bought Copilot instead.

It has a very different feel to it, and some features such as route optimisation that TT does not provide. However, its big disadvantage was the algorithm to choose the route sometimes produced weird routings.

I purchased the TT app when its price came down to a more competitive level, the price I paid for both apps being less than TT's original price!

Having two sat nav apps on my phone gives the advantage I can use Copilot when TT falls down, or when I have a delivery round and want route optimisation. I suspect that competition in smartphone satnav apps will be the driving force - as app prices drop so more people will move away from dedicated devices, and the price of those will have to drop to compete.

I've been answering this type of question so many times since the last 2 years, there are so many reasons to pick TT over others.
Quick brief, moving from PDA using iGuidance, Mapopolis, Pocket Navigating, ... to laptop with MapPoint, Delorme, .... to Garmin StreetPilot then Magellan Road (whatever, forgot the name), then Garmin Nuvi then finally TT. I choosed TT in the end, there must be reasons.
1. TeleAtlas has more and precise coverage in my area than NavTeq