What are tha advantages of using an SD card in the 720?

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by anderdea, May 1, 2008.

  1. anderdea

    anderdea

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other than the obvious, more storage, what do I gain using and SD card? How large a SD card (in GB) will it take?
    How is it formatted to use with TT, just use Windows explorer or is TT looking for a specific format only TT will read.
    Also my 720 has a lable over the slot that says "not Needed"?
     
    anderdea, May 1, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. anderdea

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    With maps and other stuff getting more bloated (plus the fact you may want to add mp3's, photos, audiobooks, more voices, poi's downloaded from sites, etc., etc., it is a good idea to get a sdhc card of 4 gigs (seems to be the sweetspot). Larger ones can work but you must remember that neither the unit nor TTHome can write to > 4 gigs, though they can read from that range.

    Format the card (many have luck with a SanDisk Ultra II but others work) as Fat32 using Explorer but do so with the card in a sd card reader, not while the card is installed in the unit.

    oh yeah, tear the paper off the slot that says card not needed :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    I speak from experience here .... was a b**ch trying to dl the NA map 710 to just the internal memory and repeatedly running into the 'not enough room' message. One gets very creative (and sloppy :( ) at 3:30 am in the morning trying to get the job done by stripping files one doesn't think will be needed.

    Get the card ....:D :D
     
    dhn, May 1, 2008
    #2
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. anderdea

    galileofigaro1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Fl
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 720
    my TT 720 doesn't read 2gb SD Sandisk

    Hey guys, I tried everything: formatted the card both ways fat 32 and regular, I transfered mp3 and jpg files to the SD card in explorer, but when I insert to the unit it only says "car symbol changed". It's a 2 gb SanDisk, that's why maybe? My TT 720 can't read SD cards apparently. Help!!:mad: :mad: :( :( Thanks in advance!!
     
    galileofigaro1, May 16, 2008
    #3
  4. anderdea

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    mp3's have to reside in a folder called mp3 and photos in a folder called photo. Did you do that?
     
    dhn, May 16, 2008
    #4
  5. anderdea

    galileofigaro1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Fl
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 720
    mp3 folder already full!

    I can't store more songs in my TT 720 internal memory because it's mp3 folder is full with around... 110 mp3 files. That's why I was trying to have more songs in the SD card but it doesn't seem to work. Any guesses? Thanks!:confused: :confused:
     
    galileofigaro1, May 16, 2008
    #5
  6. anderdea

    Bama Rambler

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    South Alabama
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720 with 920 POI's
    Make a folder named mp3 and one named photo (be aware of the letter case) on the SD card and place the appropriate files in them. The TT should read them then.
     
    Bama Rambler, May 16, 2008
    #6
  7. anderdea

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Just follow dhn and Bama's instructions.
     
    Pedro2NR, May 16, 2008
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.