West Coast Map VS USA/Canada Map

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by chbix, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. chbix

    chbix

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Just got a Tomtom One Third Edition S.
    Plugged it in, downloaded the Home, installed the maps and started messing around.

    My tomtom came with a usa/canada map, but when browsing other maps, I saw that they also have individual regions.

    I was wondering if the regional maps contained more information then the generic usa/canada maps.
     
    chbix, Jan 8, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. chbix

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    They do not. They are 'chunks' of the entire map.
     
    dhn, Jan 8, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. chbix

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    who knows with tomtom. However, if done properly they should have more detail. why? well, tomtom has a north american map which is too large to fit on the internal memory available on one models. because of this they have produced a canada/usa map with fewer details and smaller poi database.

    The north american map has much more detail than us/canada in my area for sure.

    IF (and I don't know what they've done) the regional maps are chunks of the north american map, they should be better maps for the specific area. at the very least the regional maps should have a larger poi database.

    but as I said, who knows with tomtom.......
     
    flyer1024, Jan 8, 2009
    #3
  4. chbix

    Old Baldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    South Lyon, MI, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 2nd Edition
    Old Baldy, Jan 10, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.