Welcome to TTGO 1000

Anyone want to start the pool on when/if we see this model in North America?

I hope it comes to North America. I have never used a tomtom before and this one looks pretty nice and depending on the reviews of it I will either get the 1000 or the new Nuvi 3790t.

I hope it comes to North America. I have never used a tomtom before and this one looks pretty nice and depending on the reviews of it I will either get the 1000 or the new Nuvi 3790t.
How soon will you need to be purchasing one?

I don't need to get one anytime soon I have a Nuvi now but would like to try one of these new ones. I am leaning towards the tomtom 1000 if it comes to the US but have heard very good things about the Nuvi 3790t.

Thats' a softball bet MVL:D

TomTom's taking a gamble on connected services and an entry level $200 range model can be expected. I still don't see them as big sellers here tho. It might be a short experiment IMO.

Last edited:
I don't think I'm imagining things when I say that from the introductions over the last year, TomTom has conceded the entire "above middle" range of automotive GPS units in N.A. to Garmin. I wish them well, since that's the only area where there's still going to be any margin left in these things.

But 80% of the American sales are in the low/mid range. So TT went for volume over unit margin.

But 80% of the American sales are in the low/mid range. So TT went for volume over unit margin.
Problem is - it'll stay that way with their current scheme, and competition at the low end is pretty brutal. 20% of the N.A. market represents a insignificant number of $, and you'd think they would want to amortize the tooling and development cost (especially the latter, in this case) of new units like the 1000 over as many sales as possible. One wonders if they create so many support problems with their new introductions that they can't deal with the pain here. But how can it be any easier for them in Europe?