Weird routing - Tomtom engine or TeleAtlas?

I've been using TT Navigator for a couple of years. Most recently I moved to a Treo 700p and found it didn't run very well. So I started shopping for a standalone GPS unit.

I've looked at the Garmin Nuvi, the new Magellan Maestro series, and of course TomToms. I've found one odd issue comparing the routing between these. There's this one route from outside Washington DC to a downtown location that my TomTom Nav has never gotten right. Takes me on a much slower route instead of sticking to highways as much as possible. I've been using this to compare units.

The Navteq based units(Magellan and Garmin) got it right. The picked the route that I would choose to take. I tried a TomTom Go 510 in the store and it got it right. I brought a 510 home and it gave a different route....the slow one. Huh? Why would 2 510s route it differently. Then I got a ONE and it also gives the sow route.

Is this a TeleAtlas vs Navteq issue or something with the TomTom routing engine? Also, why would I get a different route on 2 510s?

For some reason this one route issue bothers me. If it would get it right I would be very happy with my ONE. Otherwise I can't help but consider the Nuvi and the Navteq maps.

Thoughts? Thanks!

Whenever people use a GPS navigator in an area they are familiar with, they always find that they know better routings than the one given by the navigator. I'm sure that in another situation, someone would complain about the Garmin's routing and prefer the one given by the TomTom.

But we buy these things in order to get us to spots where we are unfamiliar with the best routes. And believe me, I'm quite happy to arrive at my destination, even if I take a little longer than a local guy who knows the short cuts.

If you don't like the routing, just go the way you know best and the TomTom will reroute you.

Thanks