Waiting for Valid GPS signal

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Tithie, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. Tithie

    Tithie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just received a Tomtom One for Christmas! Great present - unfortunately it doesn't seem to work. Each time I turn it on, it can't find a valid GPS signal. I have reset it numerous times - no luck. Tried different times of the day - day, night - cloudy, rainy and bright sun. I live in a remote area (MA coast) with NO tall buildings or trees. Very frustrated. Looking for advice - before I throw this out the window! Thanks
     
    Tithie, Dec 28, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tithie

    irvinf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
    SAT fix

    Please overlook this foolish question.
    I had same problem until I stepped outside for 5-10 minutes.
     
    irvinf, Dec 28, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tithie

    Tithie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not an idiot - I've been outside with the gps! Stop the insults - how bout some answers!:mad:
     
    Tithie, Dec 28, 2007
    #3
  4. Tithie

    CraigDaModeler

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    'Nawlins, La
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE LE
    I had the exact same problem until I loaded the TomTom Home software and did the required updates...one of which is the gps position fix. It has worked every time since then.
    Craig
     
    CraigDaModeler, Dec 28, 2007
    #4
  5. Tithie

    adblink

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya you need to do the updates, it will install a quick gps fix to aquiring the signal faster. you need to do it every week or so i think
     
    adblink, Dec 29, 2007
    #5
  6. Tithie

    iggk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    try updating your tomtom with the quick gpsfix.

    even with this the first power on with take a few minutes.

    just turn it on and walk away.
     
    iggk, Dec 29, 2007
    #6
  7. Tithie

    sgoldste01

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    One 3rd Edition
    also after a reset

    You will notice that the TomTom is slower to acquire a satellite fix anytime you click the Reset button the bottom of the unit. Even though my TomTom can lock onto satellites while I'm inside at my desk, after doing a reset, I must step outside with the unit for a couple of minutes to help it figure out where in the world it is.
     
    sgoldste01, Dec 29, 2007
    #7
  8. Tithie

    adagio

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    TomTom Model(s):
    One 2nd edition
    My brother had a similar issue until he updated the TomTom's OS to the latest. It's worked fine since.
     
    adagio, Dec 29, 2007
    #8
  9. Tithie

    socco74

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    waiting for gps signal

    I would like to confirm resetting the device does work. I had given up all hope. Make sure you hold the reset button for at least 15 seconds from device being on and charged. Then hold power button for 5 seconds and you should see a very teckie screen to confim loading from factory setting.
     
    socco74, Oct 9, 2010
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.