Volume on via 1535


Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
I was wondering if there is an issue with the volume on the via 1535? I just got mine and even at 100% the vol is so low I have to turn off my radio, close my windows and make sure no one is talking to be able to even hear it, and even then it sounds like someone with a very soft quiet voice speaking.
The unit is mounted in a bracket on my dash so the built in mount is flush against the back, but even with it removed from the bracket it still sounds a lot quieter then my XXL did.
I thought the voice activated and blutooth would make it better but if the vol is this bad I am going to have to go back to the XXL. on the other hand if this is not an issue an the voice should be the same, then my unit must be defective. My radar detector sits further away and is much louder, adn I don't even have that on full volume.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I need to compare my Via 1535 vs. my GO 1535 to see if there's any difference, but I don't recall either of them being as quiet as your seems to be. I'll compare to my Via 1635 and GO 600 tomorrow and get back to you.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,812
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
The Via 1535 was quieter than the GO Live 1535 but since I sent mine back, together with the QS, I have no means to check.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,275
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Is there a volume setting to associate volume to speed of car? Is it checked?
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
Is there a volume setting to associate volume to speed of car? Is it checked?
Yes there is and I have tried both with it checked and not checked.
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
My unit must be defective, I just checked my old XXL and the volume on the via 1535 at 100% is about the same as the volume on my XXL at 30%.
I have not checked to see if it has the same problem when I try to make a call using blutooth, will need to check that when I get a chance. I think I am going to contact Amazon and exchange this, just wanted to make sure this was not normal for this model.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Just tested, and the Via 1535 really isn't as loud as any of the rest I have been testing. Swapping it out may not help.
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
Just tested, and the Via 1535 really isn't as loud as any of the rest I have been testing. Swapping it out may not help.
OK good to know. Amazon did an excahnge for me, if the new one is no better I will have to switch to a different model. still can't believe how quiet this one is. Would I be better off going with the go live 1535 I see it is discontinued but i can get it from amazon for the same price as I paid for the via 1535.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
The Live unit is nice, but be aware that the 2G AT&T service that Live depends upon for that model will start to go away, and will be completely dark nationwide by the end of 2016.
If you have any interest in Live traffic at all, you may wish to consider a GO 50 or GO 500 for a newer 5" model.
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
The Live unit is nice, but be aware that the 2G AT&T service that Live depends upon for that model will start to go away, and will be completely dark nationwide by the end of 2016.
If you have any interest in Live traffic at all, you may wish to consider a GO 50 or GO 500 for a newer 5" model.
Well that explains why they discontinued it. Actually the main reason I am upgrading is voice activated, and want it to power on when I plug it in, and not have to turn on manually. I have a switch that powers all my accessories (radar detector, gps ect), but with xxl, I still have to press power button, on via I don't, plus there are a few other features my xxl does not have.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
It took them a bit, but eventually they got the GO 1535 voice control working quite nicely. Newer GO 1535 units also have a "wake up phrase" that allows you to invoke voice control with .. well .. voice control!

Device will power itself on with external power applied, and can be set to turn itself off when external power is lost.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
via 1535 TM
It took them a bit, but eventually they got the GO 1535 voice control working quite nicely. Newer GO 1535 units also have a "wake up phrase" that allows you to invoke voice control with .. well .. voice control!

Device will power itself on with external power applied, and can be set to turn itself off when external power is lost.
sounds good, can you tell me where can I find out the difference between the go and via and other model lines?
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top