Voice control does not work


Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
I have just purchased my Via 135 M with voice control, but when I click the microphone to give an address with the voice control, I am told that VC does not work in this country - no matter which country I choose.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Okay, try a factory reset. Will cause you to lose all custom settings but it may work. If not, guess you'll need to make a call to customer support:
Danmark
35 25 65 14

Mandag-Fredag:
10:00 til 17:00
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
No result :(
Another thing: Should it not charge when I connect to the usb on my laptop?
My laptop says it cannot recognize it, which it could earlier today.
 
Ad

Advertisements

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Plan a trip by menu to a destination in your country, and in the process make sure you tap the country selection and chose your country.

Then set the spoken voice to a computer voice from your country.

The above usually fixes non-working voice control.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
No matter what the hell I do, it does not work, and I do not understand why it did not work when I bought it.
And I cannot understand what computer voice or not has to do with it's abiltity to recognize my voice?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
I agree, but I cannot see what the recognition has to do with computer or not computer voice
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Only a computer voice, the one that will announce the street name after the next turn, will talk to you in voice control.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
But now I don't have the problem anymore, for I cannot turn the crap on. If I just click the button shortly nothing happens, if I press it for some seconds, sometimes the opening screen with the street comes up - and disappears in 1/100 second. So that's it.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
OK, let's take a step back.
Connect your device to the PC with the USB cable and while connected switch off the device.
Now start up MyDrive Connect which should display 'Not connected'.
Switch on the device and tell us what happens at MyDrive Connect on the PC.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 18, 2015
Messages
13
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/dk.png" alt="Denmark" /> Denmark
TomTom Model(s)
Via 135 M
When I connected, it told me that there are 3 new updates and I said yes to install them.
It downloaded 15-10 minutes and then nothing happend then, until it began to download again - and told me that it will last about an hour - and I am waiting for that now.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Well, you have the number to Customer Support to call.........
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top