Via 1525 - Network Status Not Connected

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by PITBULL, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. PITBULL

    PITBULL

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1525
    Tha't's exactly the one I have, same model # also. It has a small more squarish piece in place of the oval egg shape like my old one.
     
    PITBULL, Jan 12, 2020
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. PITBULL

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    TT_Antenna02.jpg
     
    Arno, Jan 12, 2020
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. PITBULL

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK. I peeked at your IP address to see where you were. Not sure that you are in 'prime' territory for the RDS-TMC traffic, but it's worth it to try checking to see what it picks up.
    That said, there's traffic service, and there's traffic service. What we call "Live" traffic (the 'other' system) is far more comprehensive, even covering small side streets when there are issues.
     
    canderson, Jan 12, 2020
    #23
  4. PITBULL

    PITBULL

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1525
    Its not getting any traffic after putting the app on the wife's smart phone.
    I'm done with this crap.
    Gonna try to contact TomTom tomorrow, if they can't straighten this mess out then I will request a "partial refund."
    Hoping to just get a refund as this is just to complicated and time consuming.
    I've already got a Garmin unit picked out for less money that gets traffic right out of the box without the headaches supposedly.

    I'll let you guys know what happens, thanks for all the input.
     
    PITBULL, Jan 12, 2020
    #24
  5. PITBULL

    PITBULL

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1525
    Well after talking with someone at TomTom and trying a few other things, still not getting traffic.
    He also said it DOES NOT need to be paired up with a smartphone.
    I am sending it back for a refund and have already bought a Garmin to replace it.
    Of course I will have to pay a restocking fee and the shipping. I don't know why they would restock it and disappoint someone else. I should get a full refund since it was not working as described. This whole thing has been a terrible experience and I will never buy another TomTom again or recommend them to anyone. :mad::(

    Thanks for your help guys and good luck with your TomToms
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    PITBULL, Jan 15, 2020
    #25
  6. PITBULL

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I am curious about your purchase. Did you buy it from TomTom directly or from a store.
    I cannot believe that TomTom would sell ancient products like that one.
     
    Arno, Jan 15, 2020
    #26
  7. PITBULL

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Don't be confused by the similarity to an old Nav3 model number, Arno. That's a Nav4 unit, currently being sold. Came out about a year ago.
     
    canderson, Jan 15, 2020
    #27
  8. PITBULL

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Thanks, so they still carry on with their stupidity of naming models.
     
    Arno, Jan 15, 2020
    #28
  9. PITBULL

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yup.
     
    canderson, Jan 15, 2020
    #29
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.