Urban Rider available

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by mvl, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. mvl

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I just noticed that the Urban Rider is now available and in stock on the UK Tomtom website (here).

    And you can buy USA/Can/Mex maps for it here, if any North American customers want to import it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2010
    mvl, Jul 11, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mvl

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    And if you plan to purchase this don't forget to order the optional Accessory which is the power lead for the device when fitted to the bike! - They don't include one in the box with the device - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 12, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mvl

    myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not that they don;t add the poser lead in the box...the docking mount for the bike does not charge, so there is no need for a power lead. i had it in my hand today and the dock is just a holder. The new Urban does not charge on the go.
     
    myvrodrocks, Jul 24, 2010
    #3
  4. mvl

    giurobrossi

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Charge kit

    Hi,

    I've found this charge kit which should be compatible with the Urban Rider:

    Charging bike mount and battery cable - Accessories - TomTom

    Unfortunatly this is not available for buying online from Tom tom site and I wasn't able to find a website which sells it. So, do you know if it would be available somewhere online (maybe in Europe) ?

    Thanks a lot.
     
    giurobrossi, Jul 25, 2010
    #4
  5. mvl

    ib1-2

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the same as Rider2. So check out ebay for bargains.

    Got my Urban today and it's updating maps at present. I shall try it out tomorrow. Got to be better than my Rider1?? There was no manual in the box only a setup booklet so I need to check out what the different features are as messages like "no photo found" pop up. I should think I can change things like startup screen picture just like I did with the original. Anyway we'll see how it goes.

    Managed to get the European one at discount price from Hantec if anyones interested.
     
    ib1-2, Jul 29, 2010
    #5
  6. mvl

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    What were you doing when this message appeared as I have only seen it before when configuring custom POI files to work with audio (OGG Vorbis) files of the same name - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 29, 2010
    #6
  7. mvl

    ib1-2

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry can't remember exactly what I was doing as I had just got the Rider out the box and was running through the menus prior to setting it up.
     
    ib1-2, Jul 29, 2010
    #7
  8. mvl

    WetSparks

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "no photo found" pop up is from 'Start Up Preferences' where you can select to use a different start up image. However if you have no other images available you get the above message.
     
    WetSparks, Aug 2, 2010
    #8
  9. mvl

    codered11343

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have any idea when this version of the Rider will be available in the US? I really want this new one because from what I can tell the Rider 2ed has been discontinued from TomTom.

    I have no problem buying it from the UK and having it shipped over and installing US maps, but from my experience, things like this don't tend to work at 100% after the conversion.
     
    codered11343, Aug 24, 2010
    #9
  10. mvl

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    The spec sheet reads:

    "Battery
    Battery Life Internal rechargeable Li-Ion giving approx. 8 hours
    Alternative power source 12V motorbike battery"


    In reading some online reviews, it does indicate a charging mount is available as an option, although I can't understand why that wouldnt be standard issue.

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
    rcacs, Aug 25, 2010
    #10
  11. mvl

    tomtomriderv2

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    problem with my tomtom rider v2

    hello im having problems with my tom tom rider v2 when i connect my Scala rider solo to the tomtom and and receive a call from some one I answer in but I cant here anyone though the speakers on the Scala but they can here me talking though the mic:confused:
     
    tomtomriderv2, Aug 26, 2010
    #11
  12. mvl

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    I will suggest you start a new thread for this issue. You have posted in a discussion that is about an entirely different issue.

    By doing so, I bet you will get the answer you require...:D

    Cheers!
     
    rcacs, Aug 27, 2010
    #12
  13. mvl

    mbruxmeier

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider2
    Urban Rider is definetely not available in the US. TomTom confirmed in their response to me.

    C) Unfortunately, we have stopped the Rider devices for US so no longer we sell UrbanRider here in US.

    They gave no information if they are planning to bring another nav for motorcylces back on themarket here. Sof if you want a TomTom Rider you have to import it from Europe and buy local maps.
     
    mbruxmeier, Sep 25, 2010
    #13
  14. mvl

    Adenau

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tomtom rider charger F*** up

    Tomtom has sold their new Urban rider with out a 12V bike charger in Europ, the charger is listed as a optional device on theyr web pages, but due to problems wit this charger they can`t deliver it so even eif you try to order one you won`t get it.
    Representaivs from leading motorcycle equipment suplyers on Intermot (Europs biggest motorcycle fair) confirmed that they was given new delivery dates for this charger holder with out geting the thing, they where fedup with Tomtom.
    The capacity claimed for the built in battery is only valid in ideal condition, normaly it don`t last much more than 4 hours, then you have to find a socket where you can charg it for 6-7 hours before you continue the trip....
     
    Adenau, Oct 9, 2010
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.