UPDATING PROCESS

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by ERIC THRONTEN, May 29, 2016.

  1. ERIC THRONTEN

    ERIC THRONTEN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    Got my first portable sat nav ever two weeks ago. Tom-tom GO 5100.

    When I first got it I had a few updates to install. When there was an update available, I use to get info on my computer as to when it was downloading, followed by info on my computer and Tom-tom GO as to when it was updating and finally my TOMTOM would inform me that my update was complete and successful.

    Lately when I log into mydrive connect and see that an update is available from the community and I connect my tom-tom to the computer and try the update, all I get is the update "circle" without any info on progress.

    After a while I just give up and logout. What has changed??
     
    ERIC THRONTEN, May 29, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ERIC THRONTEN

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,445
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, May 29, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ERIC THRONTEN

    ERIC THRONTEN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    The download and progress bars used to be there when I first updated my tom-tom. Even though they are not there now, my tom-tom does eventually acknowledge that it has updated, although this seems to take a very long time, but even then the update "circle" continues to show.

    Might my latest experience be because the latest updates have been community updates and not "official" tom-tom map updates? The only other difference is that for the latest updates I did not connect my tom-tom to the computer until after I logged into mydrive connect and noticed that an update was available
     
    ERIC THRONTEN, May 29, 2016
    #3
  4. ERIC THRONTEN

    Craig Minter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    5100
    i just connected my 5100 to my laptop this evening to give it a full charge (still find it odd that the car supply doesn't actually have the power to fully charge the device!), and 4 updates available including operating system! Device struggled to connect as always, struggled to update and eventually completed but now I have lost my maps! Device advises me not enough space on device, to free up some space or insert memory card. So I find an old 16gb memory card, wipe it and insert it, but the device wont see it!!! I have always found these devices to be poor when updating but it seems they are getting worse!
     
    Craig Minter, May 31, 2016
    #4
  5. ERIC THRONTEN

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,445
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A reliable choice is a SanDisk 8 or 16 gb microsdhc card.
     
    dhn, May 31, 2016
    #5
  6. ERIC THRONTEN

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Not sure how you 'wiped' the card, but ...

    Use your laptop to format (full format, not quick format) the card to FAT32 and then insert again into your 5100. It should recognize the card and offer to format it in its own special way.
     
    canderson, May 31, 2016
    #6
  7. ERIC THRONTEN

    ERIC THRONTEN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100
    This is exactly what happened to me when I first received my new tom-tom GO 5100. I am completely new to the portable sat nav and thought that my new device would benefit from updating, but after some considerable time all I achieved was the updates, but my maps were wiped.

    If I remember rightly I received the same messages about insufficient space. Being new to this technology I went to TomTom.com/support, got the support telephone number and eventually was able to make myself and problem understood.

    I did not need to insert additional memory, and only recollect emptying my cache, logging into Tom-tom mydrive connect, going to my services where it showed the maps that I was entitled to. Since I had no maps (remember like you my maps had been wiped during updating) I was able to select my maps (In my case UK & Ireland) and download them. This of course took ages as well.

    The thing is at that time I was able to see download and update progress bars, but since I no longer see these progress bars I don't know what I will do when future significant map or software updates are available!!

    Not sure this is any help or comfort to you and maybe a call to support can help you as it eventually it did me.
     
    ERIC THRONTEN, May 31, 2016
    #7
  8. ERIC THRONTEN

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    QU-079_My-Content_A.jpg

    Open MyDrive Connect, plug the device in to the USB port.
    You should get a screen akin to the above.
    (If log in is required, do it with the username and password with which you registered the device.)

    Instead of "Active" it should show something like "Download" and instead of "Uninstall" it should be "Install"
    When downloading a map (never with the Data plan connected) I start her up and walk away, doing other chores.
    Usually, the map is installed by the time I get back to the device.
     
    Arno, May 31, 2016
    #8
  9. ERIC THRONTEN

    ERIC THRONTEN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 5100

    That is really what I was trying to explain, but much better put.
     
    ERIC THRONTEN, Jun 1, 2016
    #9
  10. ERIC THRONTEN

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Yes Eric, you did.
    People are different. You can tell me ten time and I still may not get it.
    Show me, and it makes sense to me, and it is done.

    In some other forum I think I posted as may pictures as the rest of the gang combined.
     
    Arno, Jun 2, 2016
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Dennylxs

    Need help updating NA map on 700

    Dennylxs, Jan 14, 2007, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,440
    Pedro2NR
    Jan 19, 2007
  2. FlyNavy

    Updating, without updating POIs??

    FlyNavy, May 11, 2007, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,378
    The Spook
    May 14, 2007
  3. wowboy

    problem after updating map on my 910

    wowboy, May 31, 2007, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    874
    Guttboy
    May 31, 2007
  4. markel253

    Worth Updating?

    markel253, Jun 10, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    772
    Sextant
    Jun 11, 2007
  5. dervari

    RMA Process

    dervari, Jun 26, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    928
  6. spook45

    Updating process....

    spook45, Aug 20, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    793
    spook45
    Aug 20, 2009
  7. bassbuddy

    XL350TM initial update process?

    bassbuddy, Dec 1, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,158
    bassbuddy
    Dec 2, 2010
  8. mKarpis
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,645
Loading...