updating Points of Interest

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by mccririck, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    I can add and edit the POIs that came installed on the TomTom, but the third party ones I added with TomTom Home don't seem to be changeable at all, is this correct?
     
    mccririck, Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mccririck

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,106
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You don't say what model you have.

    With application 8.351 on my 720, I can go: Preferences-->Manage pois-->Edit poi-->select Poi near you, or in city or near Home....

    Next screen is a list of ONLY custom ov2 files I've downloaded and installed in the NA map folder.
     
    dhn, Mar 31, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mccririck

    pianoCM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    I believe you are right.
    As for me, I cannot edit my own POIs on Tomtom unit, I have to do it on the computer at home.
    But anyway, I cannot do it does not mean it isn't doable, maybe someone else can.
     
    pianoCM, Mar 31, 2010
    #3
  4. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    TomTom One V3

    It's quite annoying not being able to edit them as there are a few mistakes and I'd like to add to them as well.
     
    mccririck, Mar 31, 2010
    #4
  5. mccririck

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    On the device that you have you could run a custom menu to get the full POI menu options available on it, ,once you have the Manage POI option its easy to select a single Custom POI category and edit the contents on the device, the downside to running a custom menu is that you lose MapShare and HelpMe options.
    To be honest the easiest way to create, edit or enhance details in a Custom POI file is to use the POIEdit software on your PC, POIEdit can be downloaded from Here - Mike
     
    mikealder, Apr 2, 2010
    #5
  6. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    Nice one, thanks!
     
    mccririck, Apr 2, 2010
    #6
  7. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    Where can I find accurate co-ordinates to correct them?
     
    mccririck, Apr 16, 2010
    #7
  8. mccririck

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    What are the POI Categories you are looking at? as for increasing accuracy it is possible using Google Earth but it will take you hours if there are a large number of entries to check - Mike
     
    mikealder, Apr 17, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.