Updates Available, But No Updates To Select?

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by CanuckTT, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. CanuckTT

    CanuckTT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to update my Tomtom GO2535 today for the first time since they switched to the MyDrive set-up and it tells me I have 3 updates available. However when I get into MyDrive there is nothing to select. I've attached a couple screenshots of what I'm facing. I've tried resetting the Tomtom itself, clearing the browser cache, uninstalling the Tomtom software from my PC and have tried with Chrome, Firefox and IE but nothing works. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    CanuckTT, Feb 22, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CanuckTT

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When you click on 'More Info' under the 'Update All' button, what does it show? Are you using the cable that came with the device? Don't use a USB 3 port on the computer.
     
    dhn, Feb 22, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. CanuckTT

    CanuckTT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I click "more info" I takes me to the screen in the second screenshot. Also I'm using the USB cable that came with the unit. I've even tried on two separate PC's, neither of which have USB 3 ports. And just for giggles I tried with a different internet connection by tethering to my Android so as to take my ISP's router out of the equation.

    I'm stumped....
     
    CanuckTT, Feb 22, 2014
    #3
  4. CanuckTT

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Feb 22, 2014
    #4
  5. CanuckTT

    CanuckTT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried switching ports and no luck. I've also tried the tips in the post you linked but again, nothing.

    Sigh. Why did TomTom have to replace something that worked with this MyDrive garbage? From all the problem threads in the support forums there seems to be a lot of issues.
     
    CanuckTT, Feb 22, 2014
    #5
  6. CanuckTT

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,903
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    They had to replace Home because the Home interface to the older Nav2 devices is totally different from the interface to the newer Nav3 devices. The old devices looked like external disk drives to the system. Although connected using a USB cable, the newer devices (through the magic of some 'bridge' software) make the new Nav3 devices look like little servers, and the connectivity is via a 'network' interface. If you look at the network devices hooked to your PC while your 2535 is connected, you'll discover that your 2535 perceived by the O.S. as a 'network' device. That caused a rather substantial rewrite of the whole interface since the mechanism for moving objects on and off these devices changed radically.

    For years, Home was a bit of a pain as well. Took them years to get it cleaned up. I expect it will be the same for this new MyDrive (previously MyTomTom) interface.
     
    canderson, Feb 23, 2014
    #6
  7. CanuckTT

    CanuckTT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved! I changed my location the United States and I was able select my updates.
     
    CanuckTT, Feb 25, 2014
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.