Unable to find ov2 file on computer

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by wc572, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. wc572

    wc572

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    rider
    A friend planned a route for his gps and I converted the route to the ov2 format and saved it on my computer. When I open routes in tom tom I get all the pre loaded routes from tom tom. I used the search function on tom tom and typed in the exact file name, with the ov2 extension and tom tom did not find the route.

    How do I find the route I am looking for and upload that to my tt rider?

    thanks
     
    wc572, Mar 20, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. wc572

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I believe a route neets to ne saved in the ITN format. ov2 items are single point destinations.
     
    Arno, Mar 21, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. wc572

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    We could help to turn that *.ov2 into the *.itn you need (or your friend could do it), but if we're going to help, you'll have to search your whole PC for the file. No idea where he might have put it.
     
    canderson, Mar 21, 2016
    #3
  4. wc572

    wc572

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    rider
    Thanks. I will change it to an ITN and see if that solves the problem.
     
    wc572, Mar 21, 2016
    #4
  5. wc572

    wc572

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    rider
    OK. converted from ov2 to itn. Here is what i am doing. I go into Tom tom Home. I select "Add Traffic, voices... I then select Points of Interest. Then the screen changes and it lists a whole bunch of routes that others from around the world have uploaded. I do not see how I can browse to my hard drive to select the ITN file to upload to my GPS.
    Thanks for any help.
     
    wc572, Mar 22, 2016
    #5
  6. wc572

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Use Explorer (not Internet Explorer) to copy the *.itn file from your computer to a folder on the device called itn
     
    dhn, Mar 22, 2016
    #6
  7. wc572

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    This process doesn't even require Home. Just use your PC to open up your TomTom like it was a disk drive or thumb drive, and copy the *.itn file from your PC into the folder on your TomTom device called 'itn'. Done.
    The list you are seeing with your method takes you out to TomTom's server for routes that other people have created, not ones on your PC.
     
    canderson, Mar 22, 2016
    #7
  8. wc572

    wc572

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    rider
    dhn and canderson - thank you that process worked.
     
    wc572, Mar 22, 2016
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.