TT1 "Waiting for valid GPS signal" :mad:

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by michaelwharton, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. michaelwharton

    michaelwharton

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many times can we ask the same question???

    3 days ago I did the updates, have used the paperclip to reset... everything mentioned on here.... and i havent been able to acquire a satellite signal since....... :mad:


    any new ideas besides pitching ol tom out the window?
     
    michaelwharton, Jan 6, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. michaelwharton

    iggk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    it's not completely uncommon to wait 2-5 minutes to find a signal on first start.

    it happened with mine and when my parents got theres i thought the gpsquickfix download would help with that on first start but it still took a LONG time.

    after every gpsquickfix download i just let it finish finding the sat's without interupting with reboots and resets.

    my first guess is your impatient just set it in the car turn it on and walk away.

    if that don't work contact tomtom support.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2008
    iggk, Jan 6, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. michaelwharton

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920
    I agree with iggk. There is one other thing you can try, tho.


    If you've made a previous backup of your TomTom, using HOME, then you can try the following:

    1) From the main HOME window, click on the "Add Maps, Traffic, Voices, etc." button:
    [​IMG]

    2) Click on the "More" arrow
    [​IMG]

    3) Click on the "Items on My Computer" Button:
    [​IMG]

    4) You should see a screen similar to this:
    [​IMG]

    5) You should have a QuickGPSFix option. Click on the "+" sign next to it:
    [​IMG]

    6) Click on the "ADD" button next to the available QuickGPSFix

    It will install the last latest QuickGPSFix and may help grasp the satellites quicker.
     
    Birdman, Jan 6, 2008
    #3
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.