TT not formatted - red X flashing

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by kschoening, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. kschoening

    kschoening

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be old to some of you, but this is the second time I connected TT to my pc to update with the result being disaster.

    TT customer service sent me some files to get-er-back up, but when trying to drag&drop files on "removable device" the error is "drive * not formatted, do you want to format it now" and of course I said yes, set to FAT32 and get error "windows cannot format drive *".

    Does anyone have to correct procedure and/or flash files to fix? Thanks.

    Ken
     
    kschoening, Mar 9, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kschoening

    feejo

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Montreal
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL-S
    1. Advertisements

  3. kschoening

    a1rodger

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keller, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE LX
    It also may be possible to try this:

    I too had this problem. Lucky for me I had my main computer & a laptop. I kept getting the same message on my laptop. When I tried to format it on my desktop it worked fine. Do you have a second computer?
     
    a1rodger, Mar 10, 2008
    #3
  4. kschoening

    r028806

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Flashing the drive will not help. The windows OS is not recognizing your device as a formatted device, meaning, your PC will not be able to perform anything with this drive with respect to files. The red x means your application is corrupted or missing. Never format a device without the suggestion of tech support, or you have manually backed up your maps. Try formatting via a command prompt, but make sure you know the drive letter. Formatting the incorrect drive could result in dire results. After the format, run an update to pull in the latest application (ver. 7.162, 7.221 for 720,920,920T or 7.166 if One 3rd).
    Always disconnect your tomtom from your PC by selecting Device and Disconnect Device from the TTH Menus. If this does not work, I hope your unit is in warranty. If you provide the serial no. I can tell if it is. Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
    r028806, Mar 10, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.