TT Direct Power Cord

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by ron.p, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. ron.p

    ron.p

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Va Beach
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Hello. I posted previously about locating a direct power cradle. I appreciate to replies, but it's not worth the $60+ to do it, for me at least. So instead, I am trying to located at least the direct power wire so I don't have the cable strung across the dash area plugged into the cigarette lighter. I did locate a wire, but it seems to be a bare end and I'm not sure if it is fused or not; or if it even requires one. Is this the right one?

    Do I just go to radio shack and get one of the jumpers where it plugs in behind one of the fuses (clips to the fuse, then you plug the fuse in)?

    Thank you.
     
    ron.p, Aug 31, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ron.p

    jimmyt5

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chesapeake,va
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Ron make sure that the power going into the unit is only 5 Volts...........I did this once and smoked the unit...

    Jim
     
    jimmyt5, Aug 31, 2009
    #2
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. ron.p

    ron.p

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Va Beach
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Thanks Jim;

    Is this something like you got or can you advise where you procured one? Do you know if the "box" on this one is the fuse for it or should I also add in an inline fuse.... at 5 volts.

    Thanks again!
     
    ron.p, Sep 1, 2009
    #3
  4. ron.p

    jimmyt5

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chesapeake,va
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    jimmyt5, Sep 1, 2009
    #4
  5. ron.p

    ron.p

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Va Beach
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    OK, thank you.
     
    ron.p, Sep 4, 2009
    #5
  6. ron.p

    dervari

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can get a cig lighter outlet for about $8 at Radio Shack. Just wire it in behind/under the dash and plug the TomTom power adapter into it. No voltage issues, still using the "official" adapter, and not visible. I did that with my XM Radio and saved $35 over buying the advertised "hard wire power" kit.
     
    dervari, Sep 5, 2009
    #6
    1 person likes this.
  7. ron.p

    ron.p

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Va Beach
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Damn straight simple and cheap idea. Thanks a lot!
     
    ron.p, Sep 9, 2009
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.