Trying to add 4-digit password

I have just bought a new TomTom and am trying to add a 4-digit password. The manual tells me that I have to do this via the HOME software on my PC. However, when I try this it gives me an error message of "This functionality is not yet supported for your combination of navigation device, your device's application version and your computer's operating system." - all other functions work as expected.

I am using Windows XP patched to the hilt, HOME version 2.8.1.2218, and the TomTom is a "Blue&Me TomTom - 4GB TTS". The device reports:
Device AKTZS BJC6W
App 9.014.580798.10
OS 567329

Any assistance you can give me would be greatly appreciated.
Rog

Roger - welcome to TT and TT Forums

I'm fairly new to GPS's; and TomTom's; so not going to be much help.

The error your experiencing was very common on the XXL540 model; until TT recently corrected it.

Not sure what a 'blue&me' TT model is... (but I'm new to TT)

However, I am fairly certain that MVL, Canderson, DHN or Andy_P will be able to help you out quite a bit.

Hopefully, this isn't recently introduced to your particular model; and the solution already exists...

Hang in there.

D.

Thanks for the suggestions - I am not sure that I have a TomTom XXL model - I am not sure what it is other than a special one created for the new FIAT Punto and FIAT 500.

Certainly I am not being asked to download an additional file as one of the links suggests. As I am not sure how my machine fits into the TomTom family I am reluctant to download any updates unless they exactly fit my hardware.

Rog

As far as I know, the only way to set that password is via the "operate my device" on-screen emulator in Home.

Each model (and software version) needs a small file downloaded to make the emulator work, and often it takes a few weeks after a software update is released for the team that to the emulator file to catch up!