Trouble Creating my own Custom Voice

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by dirtyscarab, May 5, 2009.

  1. dirtyscarab

    dirtyscarab

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been scouring the internet ever since this site went down: www.graemelucas.co.uk/tomtom/

    It had a great tutorial outlining the steps to make you own custom voice. Unfortunately the site is dead and this other site's instructions: Create Your Own Content Guide doesn't work for me. I get stuck at the command prompt part of the instructions... Here that site's guide for joining the .ogg files:


    1. Download and save Viftool to your computer.
    2. Extract the files into the folder containing your 59 voice files.
    3. Open a command prompt. To do this, click Start, then click Run, and then type CMD and press the Return key.
    4. At the command prompt type the name of the drive where you saved your files, for example:

    C:

    Then type cd followed by the directory path of the folder in which your voice files are saved. For example:

    cd TomTom\Voices
    5. Type the following command:

    viftool join <number> <name> data<number>.vif

    For example:

    viftool join 75 John data75.vif

    Number refers to a unique file number that each navigation voice must have.

    Note: Many numbers are already used by the standard and premium TomTom voices. You can check the numbers that are already in use by looking in the voices folder on your device. Number 71 to 99 are recognized as special voices and it is recommended that you use one of the numbers that are in this range.

    Name refers to the name of your voice. It can be between one and eight characters long and must only use ASCII characters.
    6. Viftool will then create two files, a .CHK file and a .VIF file. For the above example you would have these two files:

    data75.chk
    data75.vif


    It just doesn't work for me. When I hit enterNo chk or vif files appear in my folder. Any ideas? At the command prompt I'm typing:

    C: cd foldercontainingmyoggfiles viftool join 92 name data92.vif

    My folder containing the .ogg files is placed in the C drive (eg C:/myoggfiles)

    Also, I don't know if this matters but when you extract the contents of the viftool zip into the same directory as your ogg files, the extracted files are inside it's own folder called 'viftool'.

    Anyhow, I'd love to get his working. I've recorded my 5yr old daughter's voice and it'd be great to have her directing me on the roads!

    Thanks all,

    Ben.
     
    dirtyscarab, May 5, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dirtyscarab

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You said this:

    C: cd foldercontainingmyoggfiles viftool join 92 name data92.vif

    My folder containing the .ogg files is placed in the C drive (eg C:/myoggfiles)


    Do you HAVE a folder called (no quotes) 'foldercontainingmyoggfiles'?? Or is your folder 'myoggfiles' (no quotes)??

    I think you should at the line I've shown bolded be putting:

    C: cd c:\myoggfiles

    (notice the \ I used?)
     
    dhn, May 5, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dirtyscarab

    dirtyscarab

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi dhn,

    Tried that. This is what I typed in the command prompt (word for word):

    C: cd C:\kira viftool join 92 data92.vif

    My folder I created (located at C:/kira) has the 59 ogg files and also MSVCR71.dll, python24.dll, viftool.exe, library.zip and w9xpopen.exe (which are the files I extracted from the viftool zip file.

    Still no luck :(
     
    dirtyscarab, May 5, 2009
    #3
  4. dirtyscarab

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What if you split this:
    C: cd C:\kira viftool join 92 data92.vif

    so C: cd C:\kira is on one line
    and viftool join 92 data92.vif

    is on a separate line?
     
    dhn, May 5, 2009
    #4
  5. dirtyscarab

    dirtyscarab

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck.

    I typed C: cd C:\kira
    Then pressed enter

    then i typed: viftool join 92 data92.vif and pressed enter again.

    got an error message saying 'viftool' is not a recognized command...
     
    dirtyscarab, May 5, 2009
    #5
  6. dirtyscarab

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Where did you download viftool to? Move it to the folder you created to store your files.
     
    dhn, May 5, 2009
    #6
  7. dirtyscarab

    dirtyscarab

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said earlier, the folder I created (located at C:/kira) has the 59 ogg files and also:

    MSVCR71.dll
    python24.dll
    viftool.exe
    library.zip
    w9xpopen.exe

    (which are the files I extracted from the viftool zip file).
     
    dirtyscarab, May 5, 2009
    #7
  8. dirtyscarab

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sorry, I can't help further. I have no experience in that area; hopefully, someone will come along and provide better assistance.
     
    dhn, May 5, 2009
    #8
  9. dirtyscarab

    e1548

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Put quotation marks between 92 and data. example: viftool join 92 " " data92.vif. Between the quotation marks you can put a name or other info
     
    e1548, Jul 8, 2009
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.