Traffic on iPad and iPhone

Discussion in 'Mobile Navigation' started by davidalan99, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. davidalan99

    davidalan99

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    TomTom Model(s):
    740 Live (not Used), Iphone 4 with TomTom & Navigon and TomTom Car Kit (not used)
    After upgrading to 1.9, running IOS5 on iPhone and iPad, traffic working showing the right exparation date on the phone, 2013 (don't ask extension from issues with repurchase from a year ago after an update). However on the iPad, no traffic current. I went into the restore purchase screen on the iPad and the subscription is not there. I know I purchased only on the phone prior to the iPad being available. So I guess my question even though the app, one purchase two devices is ok. You need to purchase traffic on both devices?
     
    davidalan99, Oct 21, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davidalan99

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If you don't get an answer here, then I guess you need to call CS at 866-486-6866 to find out.
     
    dhn, Oct 21, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davidalan99

    runarg

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    TomTom Model(s):
    iPhone / Android / GO1015
    You need one Traffic subscription per device.
     
    runarg, Oct 23, 2011
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.