TomTom XL freezing on startup (was "4et03")

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by quotha, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    Have a Tomtom that will not power up. It starts the process, but will not pass the Tomtom screen with 2 hands in a circle. Have tried to reset, but no luck there. Any other helpful ideas??
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2012
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    To be more precise; I can get past the drums and then it freezes.
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Jan 30, 2012
    #3
  4. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    model: 4ET03

    It's printed just above the reset hole! The bar code reads C_NOGJ4360B10046. underneath that it reads (4ET0.002.03)
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #4
  5. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Do you normally use Home2?

    When you connect to the computer, do you see the contents of the unit as an external drive? If so, look for a ttext file called ttgo.bif in the root of the unit (not in any folder).

    The second line will show the device name.

    And, talking about a reset hole ......... have you tried resetting the unit?
     
    dhn, Jan 30, 2012
    #5
  6. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    Device Name = TomTom XL
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #6
  7. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Okay, back to the problem.......

    1. Make an Explorer, not Home, backup of the unit's contents. If not sure how, see here:
    https://www.tomtomforums.com/t17864-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html

    2. Delete all the loose files in the root of the unit, NO folders or their contents.

    3. Connect to Home and install the application offered.

    4. Disconnect PROPERLY from Home using the Device Disconnect icon.

    Any better?
     
    dhn, Jan 30, 2012
    #7
  8. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    Thank you for the help! I will try this in a few and reply back! Work beckons!
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #8
  9. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    I have backed up the files. I have deleted the loose files off of the Tomtom. how do you install TTHome to device?? I still have same trouble as before, it freezes after the drums
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #9
  10. quotha

    quotha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    30052
    TomTom Model(s):
    4et03
    Correction! it now flashes a circle with a red X in it.
     
    quotha, Jan 30, 2012
    #10
  11. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You need Home 2. Get it at at tomtom.com/home.

    Install it and connect your device to the computer and start Home 2. It (Home) should recognize the application is missing and offer the application again.That's step 3 from my post above.
     
    dhn, Jan 30, 2012
    #11
  12. quotha

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Home 2 goes on your computer, NOT on the device.
     
    Andy_P, Jan 31, 2012
    #12
  13. quotha

    felix

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Hi,
    I have exactly the same problem on the same device ("Tomtom XL" acccording to ttgo.bif file). I tried following the instructions in this thread but device still freezes on the "hands" display when it's started up. It had been working fine until I tried downloading the latest map updates (I hadn't done this for ages). The download aborted and demanded that I downloaded Tomtom Home 2, which I did, then download apparently completed successfully but the device is now dead. I've tried resetting it using the reset button on the device lots of times, and holding down the on/off switch (which does nothing).
    Anybody any ideas, please???
    Thanks
     
    felix, Apr 28, 2012
    #13
  14. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Apr 28, 2012
    #14
  15. quotha

    felix

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Thanks for the suggestion but no joy. Since I didn't make any backup until I had a problem in the first place (of course I regret that now) aren't I likely to have a problem with restoring that backup? Got it to a state where it told me I had no maps at one point but when I fuly restored it, it froze again. Is there any way I can restore it to factory settings (with original maps), or any files/folders I can replace selectively?
    Thanks
     
    felix, Apr 28, 2012
    #15
  16. quotha

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Go through the steps I said. The reformatting may solve the problem.
     
    dhn, Apr 28, 2012
    #16
  17. quotha

    felix

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Hi,
    I think you misunderstood, I tried exactly what you said. Had a couple of problems reformatting for some reason but eventually it was successful. But having tried all that it still freezes on the opening hands logo.
    Thanks
     
    felix, Apr 28, 2012
    #17
  18. quotha

    felix

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    ...by the way I just tried your other suggestion from earlier in the thread of deleting all the files in the root directory and letting Home 2 install an application update. Unfortunately this also left me with the same result, and also seems to leave me with some files missing from the root directory. So I'm pretty stuck!
     
    felix, Apr 28, 2012
    #18
  19. quotha

    jimincolerne

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL Live
    XL Live crash

    My XL Live crashed after I updated last night and have the same issues. Will not get past TomTom Hands. Have done the jungle drums reset and still keeps rebooting. I do get a green screen. Will try thread suggestions tomorrow.
     
    jimincolerne, Apr 28, 2012
    #19
  20. quotha

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Andy_P, Apr 29, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.