TomTom vs Garmin interface comparison

I took a bunch of pics comparing the interface on the TomTom ONE and Garmin nuvi 200. You can find them at http://www.brothersontech.com/blog/nathan/garmin-tomtom-interface-comparison

I've been using TomTom software for a couple of years, so I'm just more used to that. The Garmin certainly has some perks, but I really don't like the navigation screen. TomTom animates your motion more smoothly and provides a LOT of onscreen data including an arrow showing the direction of your next turn. The Garmin has a better map browser and much better POI and address lookup.

If you are on the fence, I hope this helps you decide if TomTom is right for you.

Like the screen shots show, I think the TomTom is really lacking in not giving the street address of the POI's when search for them. When you want to go to a certain one and it lists 5 nearby, it's useless.

Another thing that's really nice about Garmin's POI is the little arrows indicating the direction they are in. And the arrows are active as your position changes. Come on TomTom!! I know you can add some of these excellent little features.

Great pics! This is also a very good comparison of how the garmin units show many more 'map details' such as parks and water areas.

See this message for further discussion:

I don't have much experience with the Garmin, but I completely agree with you on the TomTom having a great nav display. I think the maps on my ONE XL are easy to read and really show turns, routes, etc. very well. I've never had any problems understanding it.

Nice pics! :)

I tried the Garmin a bit and found myself frustrated by the lack of information on the nav screen. Maybe I'm just used to TomTom or I'm an information junkie, but the lack of that big arrow showing the direction of the next turn, total distance and time remaining, etc was sorta frustrating. It seemed to me that it was harder to get the information you need at a glance.