TomTom Traffic: RDS-TMC vs. Bluetooth Traffic.

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Dissman, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. Dissman

    Dissman

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used TomTom Traffic through my Bluetooth Phone, and I've found that it's traffic information isn't the best. My free subscription is about to expire, and I'm wondering is RDS-TMC any better? about the same or worse?
     
    Dissman, Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dissman

    safetyman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TT Traffic via TT

    Is there anyway to know what areas of the country are covered by the TT traffic system??
     
    safetyman, Mar 1, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dissman

    Dissman

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dissman, Mar 1, 2008
    #3
  4. Dissman

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I have read from others that it's no help at all, and not worth a subscription fee
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 1, 2008
    #4
  5. Dissman

    Timon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Tustin, CA USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920T
    I see just the opposite.

    I drive from Tustin to Culver City in Southern California. TT's traffic seems to be accurate and shows close to true delay and travel times but TMC is always off and almost never give you any delay information. Other then connecting my TT to my phone I'd use TT traffic all the time.

    Now when TT brings their new GPS with built-in a built in GPRS radio that could be interesting. Although by then Dash Express may be a better solution.
     
    Timon, Mar 1, 2008
    #5
  6. Dissman

    sneakersteve

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I been trying to use the cable since I was unable to link with my BB8800. I live in NYC and it's useless. Hardly ever see any traffic reports on my TT even though I'm sitting some where in traffic for 30 minutes. I think It's useless. TT says it's the providers fault. I'm told here in the US the the TMC traffic is run by Clearchannel.
     
    sneakersteve, Mar 1, 2008
    #6
  7. Dissman

    jwiv

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Beta is over

    Just a heads up - my beta period expired (again), and much like I've done for the past year, I called TomTom and asked for the Traffic service on my Plus account to be reset. Instead, I found out that they're actually and finally charging for it. It's about $55 USD a year and you order it via Home.
     
    jwiv, Mar 5, 2008
    #7
  8. Dissman

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Others have said it's not worth the money. Are you going to spring for it?
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 5, 2008
    #8
  9. Dissman

    jwiv

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    TomTom Model(s):
    910

    Already did. It's not perfect, but it's saved me from a few disasters on 495/895/95.
     
    jwiv, Mar 7, 2008
    #9
  10. Dissman

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Cool, intersting to hear that it works in our area...wish I could get it to work with my phone...
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 7, 2008
    #10
  11. Dissman

    ckacyon

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conshohocken, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I had been using TT traffic over my GSM phone for 3 months, when my trial expired.

    Just now, I got off the phone with TT and they gave me another 3 months free. I was not able to renew my subscription via the web, or TT home. The software and site were only giving me the options for Europe, and that prompted my call.

    I was fully expecting to pay for it, so this was a nice surprise. Others my want to ring TT and see if they can get the same deal as I did.

    As for the functionality of the traffic, I find it's fairly accurate in the Philadelphia metro area. For me, it's worth paying even though I have traffic via AM and Sirius.
     
    ckacyon, Mar 7, 2008
    #11
  12. Dissman

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    How are you doin' in Conshy?!!?!?! I grew up in Norristown!
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 7, 2008
    #12
  13. Dissman

    ckacyon

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conshohocken, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Heh, I like it here! It's a shame that home prices are so expensive though, makes shopping somewhat frustrating.

    Norristown eh? I can tell you that the roads are as bad as ever!
     
    ckacyon, Mar 9, 2008
    #13
  14. Dissman

    r028806

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Traffic is global, therefore a purchase of the Euro version works in the US.
     
    r028806, Mar 9, 2008
    #14
  15. Dissman

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Nice! Yeah, I thought the roads stunk when I lived there. Housing prices are outrageous here too!
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 9, 2008
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.