Tomtom Toyota SD card problem

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by pcand01, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. pcand01

    pcand01

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Toyota Tomtom
    Hello,
    I have got the Urban Runner 2008 with a tomtom.
    I could use it for a few days, pair it with my phone, enable tomtom home, upgrade the firmware and make a backup.
    Now, the tomtom will not start, it gets stuck on a screen that shows a SD icon with a red X.
    It looks like the sd card is OK, I also tried to restore the backup to another sd card but still get the SD card red X screen.
    I tried to reset the tomtom.
    Is the tomtom unit dead? It is quite frustrating because I have the car for only 6 days.
    When docked in the car, it will read "Loading" and reboot in a loop.
    I broke after I was enabling the AUX input to hook up my ipod. I disabled the Aux input since then.
    Anything I could do before I go to the Toyota dealership for help? :(
    Thanks
     
    pcand01, Dec 21, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. pcand01

    GarCor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
    I realy don't know anything about in in car units but you might try booting it up without the Sd card in.
     
    GarCor, Dec 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. pcand01

    pcand01

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Toyota Tomtom
    No luck, Without card, I have the card picture, if I put the card, it gets the red X on it Sd card picture.
     
    pcand01, Dec 22, 2008
    #3
  4. pcand01

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, the red X signifies the unit can't find the firmware. And I suspect the firmware AND map must reside in the same memory location (internal or sd card) for any models below the Go x20 and x30's.

    I don't know where your model fits in.
     
    dhn, Dec 22, 2008
    #4
  5. pcand01

    pcand01

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Toyota Tomtom
    Well, I called tomtom. the support tech send me an application installer. I did that and the red X is gone. The problem now is that the USA and Canada map is not recognized. I will call them again.
     
    pcand01, Dec 22, 2008
    #5
  6. pcand01

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Is there a pin reset on your unit? If so, try that first.
     
    dhn, Dec 22, 2008
    #6
  7. pcand01

    pcand01

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Toyota Tomtom
    The tomtom lady posted a new map for me to download. Everything is now OK.
    I will keep more backups...
    Thanks for your help.
     
    pcand01, Dec 22, 2008
    #7
  8. pcand01

    jkswimmer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help!!

    Hi PCand01,
    Im having the same PROBLEM!!! my grandma just purchased the toyota 4runner urban runner 2008 that came with the TomTom and it said no new maps installed can you send me the files and how to do it?
    Thanks
    John
     
    jkswimmer, May 14, 2009
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.