TomTom One Third Edition question

OK, I was really planning on staking out BestBuy for the Limited Edition, but they just had the Third Edition online for $150, where I opted to pick it up in-store and avoid the lines on Friday (as well as the cold front). I'm somewhat disappointed that I had to spend $30 more and lose some functionality, but I have some questions about that.

As far as itinerary planning goes, I'm a college student, not a traveler. If, for whatever reason, I needed to do a long drive through a certain city, I could just navigate to that city first, then on to my destination, right? No reason to necessarily use the itinerary feature? Is there any possibility that this could be re-added in a future update?

And I'm also sad about the missing SD slot. However, is there enough free space on the built in memory that I really won't feel it unless I want to try to watch movies or something? Heck, I could do without maps of Canada if that would simplify things, but I picked this TomTom over the Garmin Nuvi because I know that having POIs is important and apparently the TomTom has more. I won't need to cut any out with the third edition, will I?

I'm really hoping that yall confirm my assumptions, as that'd make me feel better about bailing out of the hardcore black friday line. But on the other hand, I'd prefer a truthful answer... there's still time for me to change my mind lol

Edit: Oops, didn't realize this was in the tweaking section. Thought I had hit the back button. If this isn't the proper place, feel free to move it.

Last edited:
I' m new so I'll only answer yor most basic question. The only time you need to use your TomTom is whenever you require directions. You also have the option of ignoring route suggestions when the TomTom is being used. In other words, use it as you see fit.

Hope this addressed at least part of your inquiry. Enjoy your GPS!