Tomtom One suddenly writing longer routes

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Bshayorg, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. Bshayorg

    Bshayorg

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My TomTom One, 3rd Edition as of yesterday has started writing routes that are neither shorter nor faster. In particular, I am planning a trip to Ottawa, On from Halifax, NS and I am being routed an extra 400km through the US. Is there a setting that might need to be changed or is this one of those little eccentricities that comes along with these devices?

    Many thanks.
     
    Bshayorg, Jul 22, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bshayorg

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,985
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What application and map version do you have?

    Have you just gotten an updated mapshare file which may have faulty data? Try to remove all mapshare changes and see how you are routed.
     
    dhn, Jul 22, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bshayorg

    Bshayorg

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I just removed all mapshare corrections and it's still rerouting me through the US.
    App version: 8.010
    Map version: 815.2022

    I had the latest map but reverted to the older one when I started having this problem thinking that it might have been the map update.
     
    Bshayorg, Jul 23, 2009
    #3
  4. Bshayorg

    gatorguy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 930
    I've seen a similar post a couple of times on being routed around one of the great lakes. DHN, didn't it have something to do with either ferries or toll-roads, or Tomtom not recognizing a specific border-crossing? Might not have anything to do with the OP's issue, but thought it was worth a shot.
     
    gatorguy, Jul 23, 2009
    #4
  5. Bshayorg

    Bshayorg

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, well, I hit the option to avoid toll roads and it took me the through the proper Canadian Route, but there are still a few toll roads to get me out of my province. It's just strange because I have punched in this trip before and it mapped out the proper route. It wasn't until early this week that it started acting up. Any other advice to try? I leave in 7 hours haha.
     
    Bshayorg, Jul 25, 2009
    #5
  6. Bshayorg

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    It appears the latest maps assign really slow road categories to Canadian roads. That's why you get sent into the US.

    IQroutes devices don't use road categories for routing, instead they use actual historical driver speeds. Your only real solution here is to upgrade to an IQroutes device, or downgrade your map.

    Maybe setting a waypoint will work. Plan your route, then click "find alternative" then "route via".
     
    mvl, Jul 25, 2009
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.