TomTom One gives wrong directions

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by poddys, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. poddys

    poddys

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    My girlfriend's TomTom One was dropped a while ago, and while it still works she said it was quirky.
    We updated the software in April, and now it seems even worse.

    On a 50 mile trip for example, it wanted to take us via the regular roads and we took the highway instead. It still insisted on telling us that we needed to go back to where it wanted us to turn off, even when we were almost at our destination. Only when we reset it did it correctly tell us how to get there.

    Any ideas as to what might be wrong?

    My thoughts are that the software and maps are on the SD card, so if the hardware appears to work ok, then it might be a software issue, but I am far from being a TomTom expert.

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions as to how to determine what might be wrong.
    We checked all the setup options (that we could find) and are pretty sure it's set up correctly.

    Oh - in case this makes a difference, I put the card into my laptop to upgrade the software, rather than plug the TomTom into the laptop. I assume this doesn't make a difference...
     
    poddys, Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. poddys

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thread moved to appropriate forum.
     
    dhn, Jun 9, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. poddys

    poddys

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I was just wondering if I did the upgrade to the ONE XL incorrectly.

    Rather than plug the TomTom into the USB port, I took the SD card out and used that on the laptop. I registered on TomTom and downloaded the updates to the software and map of the UK, then put the card back into the TomTom.

    Is there anything else I needed to do?

    Thanks
     
    poddys, Jun 10, 2009
    #3
  4. poddys

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    If you used HOME to update the SD card (and HOME recognized it), then you should be OK.

    What application version and map version do you currently have? Can you be more specific on some of the quirks you've seen? Is it just bad directions?
     
    mvl, Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.