TomTom One 2nd Edition VS TomTom One 3rd Edition

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by mbmarlowe, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. mbmarlowe

    mbmarlowe

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, guys I'm having a lot of problems here trying to find out what the difference is between the TomTom ONE 2nd Edition and the TomTom ONE 3rd Edition. I'm also having a lot of trouble confirming how the TomTom stores it's maps. If it's internal memory, how much is it. Whatever it is... What if a new map comes out that won't fit on the internal memory? Then what... I currently have a TomTom GO and want the TomTom One for it's smaller size. I'm also concerned which one has the latest maps, and if it doesn't have the latest maps whether or not it would be a free download since the device would be brand new. I think my biggest problem here is the difference between the 2nd and 3rd edition, and why the 3rd is $50 cheaper... And what memory it has.
     
    mbmarlowe, Aug 31, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mbmarlowe

    goosmn

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    TTN6 w/PalmTX W/ G-Sat BT-359
    I hope I'm not breaking any rules....so, here's a excerpt from engadget.com

    " Looking to keep all its bases covered, TomTom's now followed up its just-announced high-end Go 920 T navigator with the decidedly lower-end TomTom ONE 3rd Edition. From the looks of it, the big additions this time around are support for TomTom's Map Share technology (previously seen on the company's higher-end units), a new "enhanced UI," and a new "HELP ME!" feature, which apparently includes everything from directions to the nearest hospital to car maintenance information to first aid instructions. Otherwise, you'll get the same 3.5-inch touchscreen as before, along with 1GB of internal memory, an RDS-TMC connector, and leather case and strap to "protect you TomTom device in style." Look for this one to be available sometime next month for the budget-friendly price of $249 "
     
    goosmn, Aug 31, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mbmarlowe

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    The ONE V3 has the Navcore 7 firmwire installed with the new maps to allow map share. Cons: No SD card slot because the internal memory is small!
     
    Pedro2NR, Aug 31, 2007
    #3
  4. mbmarlowe

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yeah.. basically it has no SD card slot and instead of a black casing, it's a silver casing.

    That's all I've noticed.
     
    Nextourer, Aug 31, 2007
    #4
  5. mbmarlowe

    Three3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    New London, NH
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE V2
    Wow, that's a downer! No room for another map when taking it to another part of the world. Glad I got in on V2, as that was an important part of it for me.
     
    Three3, Sep 1, 2007
    #5
  6. mbmarlowe

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I think the biggest CON is what Pedro mentioned, is the lack of SD card. You have to deal with being confined to the internal memory only. There is no chance of being able to install larger maps like North America, where older ONE's can.
     
    digital-flex, Sep 1, 2007
    #6
  7. mbmarlowe

    y0bailey

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is pretty lame. I love the extra SD card for some extra map storage headway.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2007
    y0bailey, Sep 1, 2007
    #7
  8. mbmarlowe

    minnie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TTone
    How do you tell if it's V2 or V3?
     
    minnie, Sep 2, 2007
    #8
  9. mbmarlowe

    Three3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    New London, NH
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE V2
    As of right now it's a V2, because the V3s haven't been released (in North America).

    One clue would be the SD slot on the bottom (V2), or lack of same (V3). Another is the black rectangle around the screen (V2) vs. all silver (V3). See pix and specs at http://www.tomtom.com/products/category.php?ID=0&Language=4 .
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
    Three3, Sep 2, 2007
    #9
  10. mbmarlowe

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Another way of telling the difference is at first glance the v3 has a silver face plate whereas the v2 is black.

    As I understand the v3's have been released. One of the members mentions purchasing it in Wal-Mart.
     
    digital-flex, Sep 2, 2007
    #10
  11. mbmarlowe

    Three3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    New London, NH
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE V2
    Ah yes, Victoria's post at https://www.tomtomforums.com/showthread.php?t=3186. She apparently bought it before it had even been announced! Maybe it had been shipped early so it would be ready for the announcement, and the store neglected to wait.

    The situation in the US appears to be that quite a lot of places are selling V2s at a deep discount ($200 at Staples), apparently to clear their inventory in preparation for the V3s.

    I looked at the V2 and V3 specs at TomTom's site, and they made no mention of SD slot in the V2 description. I guess they didn't want to invite comparisons.
     
    Three3, Sep 2, 2007
    #11
  12. mbmarlowe

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    IMHO, the v2 is a much better buy and that the discounts to clear inventory means very good prices.
     
    digital-flex, Sep 3, 2007
    #12
  13. mbmarlowe

    C_A_S

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, I am new to this forum, but I have a question, Will the V2 of the ONE will support RDS-TMC Traffic Receiver? I going to buy one or should I just get the V3?

    Thank you.
     
    C_A_S, Sep 8, 2007
    #13
  14. mbmarlowe

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    No because there is no socket port for the Receiver on the v2.
     
    Pedro2NR, Sep 8, 2007
    #14
  15. mbmarlowe

    donleycott

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Tom Tom One V2 Better Maps?

    I just got a new V2 and I have a few questions about maps. The V2 comes with a built in map of US and Canada. My V2 does have an SD slot so I wonder if I buy a downloadable map or an SD card from Ebay if the maps on the SD card (also for US and Canada) have a lot more detail than the maps that come preloaded.

    I also wonder if the regional map (as compared to the larger US/Can map) will have more or the same detail for a given region.

    Also please tell me the best place to buy maps (lowest price)

    Thanks
    Pat
     
    donleycott, Sep 18, 2007
    #15
  16. mbmarlowe

    michaelwylie23@yahoo.com

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    go to www.tomtom.com/plusservice.php?ID=17&1=4
     
    michaelwylie23@yahoo.com, Sep 18, 2007
    #16
  17. mbmarlowe

    legaleye3000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Besides mapshare and looking a little different, any other difference between V2 and V3? Won't Navcore 7 be available as an update (free) anyway to V2 purchaser's? Thanks (Deciding whether to buy V2 now on sale or wait for V3)
     
    legaleye3000, Sep 20, 2007
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.