TomTom One 140 or 140S - Your Opinions Please

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by SteveClark1000, May 13, 2009.

  1. SteveClark1000

    SteveClark1000

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    33?37.103'N 112?15.38'W
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE 3rd Edition
    Buy.Com has the TomTom One 140 for $135.00 and Amazon.Com has the 140S for $149.00. Is it worth the extra $14 for the Text To Speech function? Are there any other benefits to the 140S? Your insightful opinions please.....

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
    SteveClark1000, May 13, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SteveClark1000

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    For 14 bucks, go for the text to speech. You won't regret it.
     
    dhn, May 13, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SteveClark1000

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    Text for speech is absolutely worth it!
     
    theparson, May 13, 2009
    #3
  4. SteveClark1000

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    One more thought... I've seen many (most??) of the 140 buyers on this forum end up returning it and buying a 340.

    The bigger screen is valuable, and many end up just willing to pay the extra $$ for the upgrade.
     
    mvl, May 13, 2009
    #4
  5. SteveClark1000

    SteveClark1000

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    33?37.103'N 112?15.38'W
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE 3rd Edition
    Well, I thought about the 340, but I've had the TomTom One 3rd Edition for a year now and I've been perfectly happy with that. I gave the 3rd edition to my son and I'm getting the new one. Buying it mainly for a trip to New York. I really don't use it a lot around my hometown.
     
    SteveClark1000, May 13, 2009
    #5
  6. SteveClark1000

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    I actually bought the 140S and then exchanged it for the 340S and then exchanged it back for the 140S. I'm fickle I know, but I decided the big screen really did not add that much to the experience, and I liked the "cuteness" factor of the smaller unit.

    Also, the price at Best Buy on the 140S had dropped $30 from what I had originally paid. Best Buy was very accommodating. For their health, I hope they don't have too many customers like me.
     
    theparson, May 13, 2009
    #6
  7. SteveClark1000

    SteveClark1000

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    33?37.103'N 112?15.38'W
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE 3rd Edition
    I just ordered the TomTom One 140S from Buy.Com for $129.99 + 9.99 Shipping. It is a Marketplace Item, shipped by TheDealSpot.
     
    SteveClark1000, May 14, 2009
    #7
  8. SteveClark1000

    g modulate

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, guys I just bought a 140s yesterday--I had originally bought a 140, but decided to upgrade to 140s for the text to speech option. I used it today and it did not call out the names of the streets; all it did was tell me to turn left/right at x yards. Unless the concept of text to speech completely escaped me, I think this might not be what I thought it would be.

    Is my idea of text to speech correct?
    What does tom tom mean when it says 'text to speech'?

    How do I fix this dilemma? I wanted to avoid starting a thread for this, so I used the search function and this was the only thread that was relevant.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
    g modulate, May 28, 2009
    #8
  9. SteveClark1000

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    Only the "Computer" voices (e.g. Susan) say the street names. In the Main Menu tap on "Change voices" and make sure that you have a "Computer" voice selected.
     
    theparson, May 28, 2009
    #9
    1 person likes this.
  10. SteveClark1000

    g modulate

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to try this right now, thanks.

    Edit: I ran the demo after inputting the destination, and I think it works. Thanks a bunch for the help. I was about to return my 140s--phew!
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
    g modulate, May 28, 2009
    #10
  11. SteveClark1000

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF!

    Don't forget to make a complete backup of your unit's contents using Explorer, not Home. Ensure hidden files/folders are showing.
     
    dhn, May 28, 2009
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.