TomTom on a Harley

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by baldbutt, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. baldbutt

    baldbutt

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carver, Oregon
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one
    Here's a few pics of my motorcycle mount.
     

    Attached Files:

    baldbutt, Apr 26, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. baldbutt

    pajuggalo Guest

    Nice! Do you have a lighter plug too, or just run off the tomtom's battery?
     
    pajuggalo, Apr 26, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. baldbutt

    Thom

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    27302
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider V2, OneLE, XXL540TM
    Turn the gas on Dummy...

    Love it..:D
     
    Thom, Apr 26, 2008
    #3
  4. baldbutt

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Very nice!
    Thanks for sharing
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 26, 2008
    #4
  5. baldbutt

    ezerhoden

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, One LE
    How is the vibration? Or what did you use to dampen the vibration? I am looking to mount my one to my VTR1000, a v-twin sportbike. My main concern has been the vibration.
     
    ezerhoden, Apr 27, 2008
    #5
  6. baldbutt

    baldbutt

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carver, Oregon
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one
    pajuggalo--12v lighter plug in.

    ezerhoden--enclosing pic of rubber dampener.

    Works OK,, Still a little vibration,,,,,
     

    Attached Files:

    baldbutt, Apr 29, 2008
    #6
  7. baldbutt

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    I have mine mounted with a Ram Mount on my Shadow, no vibration at all
    [​IMG]
     
    eldorado, Apr 29, 2008
    #7
  8. baldbutt

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Hwo about visibility? I have mounted my 910, and I have to use a sun bonnet or it is totally washed out in the sun.
     
    GAW, Apr 29, 2008
    #8
  9. baldbutt

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Well it still washes out, but using the nite screen @ 100% and being lower does help a little, it's not perfect but better than being up high where I originally had it, still a work in progress.
     
    eldorado, Apr 30, 2008
    #9
  10. baldbutt

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    There are a number of sun shields you can get. The hard ones look better, but I have had good luck with the soft, foldable "Glare Stomper" shade.

    Used in during European Bikeweek last September - helped a lot when the sun was out. Also used a plastic baggie to protect against rain - which also worked OK at the time.

    Now RAM has a new waterproof cradle with a soft plastic face that you can operate the unit touchscreen through. Have not tried it yet, but going to.
     
    GAW, Apr 30, 2008
    #10
  11. baldbutt

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    I think this is the one you are talking about, I sent them an e-mail and got some info and it will be out this month, good price special on it.
    http://www.expressmounts.com/item-ram-mount-aqua-box-6-medium-wide-gps-cradle/ramholaq6.htm
    Looks like it might work just fine for foul weather, I just wish TT would make a visor for all the TT's like they do for the Rider, it looks good but don't know how much it shades.......
     
    eldorado, May 1, 2008
    #11
  12. baldbutt

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    That's the one I was referring to - thought it was out already - was planning to take one to Germany for a friend in mid-June. With the prices of the riders, I think using a discounted auto units with these mounts plus a little extra work make more sense.
     
    GAW, May 2, 2008
    #12
  13. baldbutt

    Pajoe

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highspire Pa
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    Here's a quick shot of our old bagger with the TomTom Go920
     

    Attached Files:

    Pajoe, Jun 1, 2008
    #13
  14. baldbutt

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    What about the rain ?
     
    GAW, Jun 1, 2008
    #14
  15. baldbutt

    gelias

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Rain Cover

    I have a cover the fits over my 720 and Satellite Radio.
     

    Attached Files:

    gelias, Jun 1, 2008
    #15
  16. baldbutt

    Pajoe

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highspire Pa
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    We had a little rain over the weekend, here is a shot of using a "cheap" clear plastic kitchen wrap, the type that sticks to itself. I want to try a thin sandwich bag next. It worked fairly good until we got over 70 mph. The Ram mount held everything in place as the plastic wrap was thin enough to not affect the mount.
     

    Attached Files:

    Pajoe, Jun 8, 2008
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.