tomtom not working since update.

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by daftdave, May 9, 2012.

  1. daftdave

    daftdave

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Guys,

    Newbie here so go easy !

    I updated my tomtom XL 340 today and since the update , i can't get past a screen which states that i cannot use this map Australia-182 ,

    I have no idea what went wrong and have no idea how to fix it, i never backed up the tomtom before to my knowlege, but i have updated it many times before and not had this issue.

    any ideas ??
     
    daftdave, May 9, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. daftdave

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Can you try resetting the unit by holding the power button about 10 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.
     
    dhn, May 9, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. daftdave

    daftdave

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, I tried that, same issue, I've done a backup and restore,
    But I guess I just restored the same problem??
     
    daftdave, May 9, 2012
    #3
  4. daftdave

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try running the Clear Flash tool (3 times). It is found here:
    http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6211/kw/clear flash

    If that doesn't help,
    1. Make an Explorer, not Home backup
    2. Delete all the loose files in the root of the unit, NO folders or their contents
    3. Connect to Home and install the application that will be offered. Disconnect properly from Home using the Device Disconnect icon.
     
    dhn, May 9, 2012
    #4
  5. daftdave

    daftdave

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi again DHN , i have cleared the flash and also deleted everything from the root of the device and connected it to home and downloaded what was offered and now its telling me that there are no maps found ??

    i still have the original backup which i can restore to but that will leave me with the same issue,

    thank you for your help so far, i really do appreciate it.
     
    daftdave, May 10, 2012
    #5
  6. daftdave

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you get the unit and map from TomTom or another source?

    Yes, try reloading the backup you made. I don't know what else to suggest if it was a legitimate map in the first place.

    Have you called CS at: 1300 135 604
     
    dhn, May 10, 2012
    #6
  7. daftdave

    daftdave

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    i bought the device off ebay about 2 yrs ago, if its not a legitimate map , surely it would have been picked up by now ?? , i will give them a call , thanks for your help !!
     
    daftdave, May 10, 2012
    #7
  8. daftdave

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I'm not so sure about that. Earlier applications may have let a hacked map continue to function, recent ones have code to prevent that happening.

    I'm not saying that is the case in your situation, but just an observation of what I see....
     
    dhn, May 10, 2012
    #8
  9. daftdave

    daftdave

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I purchased the updated maps and it is working fine since, so the issue must have been a hacked map that I didn't know about when I bought it, pretty pissed off about it to be honest, but at least my gps is back working,

    Thank you again for your help mate.
     
    daftdave, May 11, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.