TomTom Mexico Maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by tljvetter, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. tljvetter

    tljvetter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to load maps for Mexico onto my Tom Tom. What do I have to do? Are there specific ones for Cancun, Cozumel and Playa del Carmen? Thanks, Tom
     
    tljvetter, Aug 15, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tljvetter

    Gilbert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Montr?al, QC
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL-S
    As far as I know there are no maps of Mexico from TT at the moment. In fact I don't know of any maps for any country South of the USA apart from Brasil on the America continent.
     
    Gilbert, Aug 15, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tljvetter

    rickier55

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought TomTom had an NorthAmerica map? Does it not cover Mexico?

    Thanks,
    Rick
     
    rickier55, Aug 16, 2008
    #3
  4. tljvetter

    Gilbert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Montr?al, QC
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL-S
    No. Maybe a few border towns would be covered but nothing more.
     
    Gilbert, Aug 16, 2008
    #4
  5. tljvetter

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    Nope! TomTom's version of 'North America' is not the same as NAFTA's.
     
    46jimbo, Aug 16, 2008
    #5
  6. tljvetter

    rickier55

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats amazing - North America doesn't include Mexico - I have to admit, if I had bought based on wanting North America maps, TomTom would be getting a very pointed letter.

    Thanks for the headsup.

    Rick
     
    rickier55, Aug 16, 2008
    #6
  7. tljvetter

    sanferza

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico City
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL
    Now mexico maps

    TomTom's site has now maps for Mexico but they have only detailed coverage of Mexico City an Guadalajara. I would like to know why, if this map is only 71.9Mb, the cost is the same than the USA maps that are 791.3Mb. Does anyone knows if there is a chance to dowload a trial version?
     
    sanferza, Nov 14, 2008
    #7
  8. tljvetter

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Don't believe there are such things as trial versions, not with TT maps, anyway.

    As for cost? Supply and demand play a role here.
     
    dhn, Nov 14, 2008
    #8
  9. tljvetter

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I was JUST thinking the same thing when I read this topic.
     
    sageuvagony, Nov 15, 2008
    #9
  10. tljvetter

    Chuy

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been attempting to reach Tomtom customer support with no luck. I am trying to find out if these maps, as others such as Garmin, also cover Monterrey. If so I would definitely buy it.
    Does anyone have a non 866 # for their cust support ? (can't use it from Mexico)
     
    Chuy, Nov 26, 2008
    #10
  11. tljvetter

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The only phone number other than a 866 I found is this:

    Contacts
    TomTom
    Kevin Carter, Media Relations Specialist
    Tel: 978.405.1840
    Email: Kevin.Carter@tomtom.com

    You may wish to call that number and, at least, be connected with the proper department. You can also send an email by TomTom's web site.
     
    dhn, Nov 26, 2008
    #11
  12. tljvetter

    ChillyCat

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    N.E.Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Just a theory, but I think the absense of Mexico maps are most probably based on demand

    The last 35 years i've traveled thru most of the states that make up Mexico.
    Outside of major cities, the roads/highways are rarely congested. I've driven the entire distance down Mex180 from Texas to Veracruz to Cozumel. From El Paso, i've driven the Mex45-49 route all the way to Cetro, Mexico City. The majority of times my wife and I fly into Mexico City and drive from there. Wev'e driven form shore to shore and up and down both coast. Couple of times we've gone all the way into Guatemala & Belize.

    Personal observation: As I mentioned, seldom have any roads i've ever traveled, would be judged "heavy traffic". The turnpike from Mexico City to the west coast is the only long stretch I remember ever seeing that had lotsa cars for a long distance. For one, I don't think Mexicans do "road trips" like we do here. Secondly, the roads are not the high speed type wer'e accustomed to. Thirdly, most family units live in fairly close proximity to each other. Therefore, cutting down on traffic. You see very few RV's, Campers,etc in Mexico. You see very few cars with luggage racks on top....
    You do see allot of nice looking commercial bus lines. Not anything like the junk Greyhound buses of America. On most highways , you'll see a fairly consistant stream of ADO & UNO bus lines. I figure that's how allot of Mexicans travel.

    I just don't think the Mexican population does anywhere near the kind of traveling we come to expect as natural here in the States. Their interstate highway system is not all that great and the road surface can be hazardous
    for long stretches.

    Anyhow, I just can't imagine Mexicans buying allot of Nav Gadgets
     
    ChillyCat, Nov 26, 2008
    #12
  13. tljvetter

    phaaqua

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have traveled in m?xico as well. Where my wife has relatives. We have traveled mostly on the East cost, down across to M?xico City further on to Acapulco. As the previous member mentioned, the Acapulco-Mexico City High way is well traveled. However, there are increasingly more people such as we who visit M?xico by automobile an whom are used to GPS devices in the United States. It stands to reason, that, if TomTom integrates good maps for M?xico; people will start using them.

    I take my laptop with me when traveling. I use microsoft's product which works well for me. Though, the maps are not complete. I have been asked to buy the software for family members back in M?xico. There is a market. Last trip I made, a cousin showed me routing maps of M?xico on his gps cell phone. There are people using this stuff out there. Pehaps, tomtom feels they've missed out on the opportunity in M?xico since Garmin is there already. I am not sure.

    I saw that tomtom is selling M?xico maps now and that the quality and accuracy is not that good for what they are charging. As much as I like my 720 tomtom, I am very much considering giving it up for a Garmin.
     
    phaaqua, Jan 14, 2009
    #13
  14. tljvetter

    wapo1976

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    mexico maps

    does anybody know the quality of the mexico maps?
     
    wapo1976, Oct 25, 2009
    #14
  15. tljvetter

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Other than he prior anectodal posts, if you know a specific neighborhood and want to see the Tomtom map quality, try out routes.tomtom.com.
     
    mvl, Oct 27, 2009
    #15
  16. tljvetter

    elcapotudo

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, technical support sucks!!

    I was going to buy a TomTom GPS for my dad who lives down in Mexico, but I wanted to know if Toluca was covered under the Mexico maps. There's no information online about it so I called tech support and I got to a lady that was incredibly rude!! She demanded for my name so I gave it to her, then yelling at me demanded I spelled it, so I did. After the third scream I decided to hang up and not buy a TomTom GPS system. When I worked at a call center doing that kind of yelling would get me fired. I hope TomTom is recording its calls and this lady gets talked to. That's not way of treating a potential customer or customer. As for me, no way going with TomTom, having rude support is the same as having no support. You have all been warned.
     
    elcapotudo, Dec 23, 2009
    #16
  17. tljvetter

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    This forum is not affiliated with Tom Tom, inc. in any way so your post will not likely ever get seen by anyone there.

    Nevertheless, there is no reason for rudeness on the part of any employee. However, don't take the 'shotgun' approach and condemn an entire product for the actions of one stupid employee.
     
    dhn, Dec 23, 2009
    #17
  18. tljvetter

    rweil

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a TomTom model advertised to include Mexico "seamlessly". There were only skeletal map, e.g. major highways only. I have a home in Ensenada, a major port city in Baja California, and want local streets. I was offered and bought a $50 Mexico maps paclage. There are no Ensenada streets. I managed to get hold of customer support. Their answer: join their customer forum to get costomer info on points of interest in Mexico. I am forced to conclude that TomTom is not serious about Mexico coverage. TomTom's Mexico claims are FRAUDULENT. THEY HAVE NO INTENTION OF DELIVERING WHAT I PAID FOR. Probably the same is true for you. I would be glad to be proven wrong on this, but as of this date, that's how it is.
     
    rweil, Oct 17, 2010
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.