TomTom Home Installation

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by Diggertpi, May 25, 2011.

  1. Diggertpi

    Diggertpi

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Folks

    This is my first post and I am hopeful that someone can point the way.

    I have had a TomTom for a number of years and have never had a problem with updates etc

    I recently had to reformat my HDD and found that my original TomTom installation disk is missing, I presumed that I could simply download the latest version of TomTom Home and all would be good. Unfortunately nothing happens when I try to install it,

    Do I need to find or borrow the original install disk or is there another workaround?

    Thanks

    diggertpi
     
    Diggertpi, May 25, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Diggertpi

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,083
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, May 25, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Diggertpi

    Diggertpi

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    Thanks a million - that was a huge help.

    Cheers
     
    Diggertpi, May 25, 2011
    #3
  4. Diggertpi

    5tevie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    dhn .... New guy here with a Tom Tom Go 630 Traffic which arrived today. The pack included the device itself, in-car charger and windscreen mount. Nothing else. But that was exactly what I expected to receive.
    But if I get hold of a copy of the HOME software, it looks like I will still be snookered because, in that link you posted there is no mention of that NET. Framework stuff working on a Mac computer.
    Or is there some kind of workaround?
    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    5tevie, May 27, 2011
    #4
  5. Diggertpi

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,083
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I honestly don't even know if a Mac utilizes that. Anyway, get the latest Home 2 from tomtom.com/home and get the app for the Mac.
     
    dhn, May 27, 2011
    #5
  6. Diggertpi

    5tevie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,
    That worked fine. I just need to wait for my new PC USB lead to arrive now.
    Many thanks,
    Steve
     
    5tevie, May 27, 2011
    #6
  7. Diggertpi

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Any mini USB to normal USB lead will work to connect the TomTom to the computer, it doesn't have to be a docking station/ cradle - Mike
     
    mikealder, May 27, 2011
    #7
  8. Diggertpi

    5tevie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought of that, Mike, but I just don't have one that I can lay my hands on. I could run down to the nearest PC shop and buy one but there's no desperate need for one so I'm happy enough just to wait for them to turn up.
    Cheers,
    Steve
     
    5tevie, May 27, 2011
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.