TomTom Go 720 new firmware 7.221


Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
60
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 720
Hi guys,

Just updated to firmware 7.221 like... a min ago. Dont know what it fixed yet but we will find out :rolleyes:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
11
The Skealo wonders where you got it? Skealo's Tomtom home says nothing is available and I'm runnin 7.220... Skealo's really excited to get voice input.... Will that mean we can enter the address by speaking?

Thanks
The Skealo
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
220
Is that right? They included voice input on the 720?
hmmm, maybe it has something to do with a file called

support_asr.dat


it appears to be a text file renamed to that, the only contents as viewed in notepad is the number 1?

In any case, voice input is working on my 720.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
220
Interesting, well that is certainly an upgrade for the North American units.
also more interesting is that my streets near my home are actually easier to locate with the voice input..... in Palmdale, you have streets like


ave r-10
avenue r4
e avenue r-5




there is no logical way those streets are listed, and youve got a-z basically in east and west, with subsections of each "ie: R, then R1-R12"

confusing when you try type it, but with speech its right on the number.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
60
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 720
can someone tell me where I can find the speech input?? Or how to activate it? Thank you.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
220
My apologies...

I may have mis-spoke..... It *IS* working on my tomtom 720, however not via the newest update....a third party file in which I have in my tomtom, it is a basic text file with only the number 1 in it..... I will speak with pedro to see if I can give instructions in here.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
60
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 720
I may have mis-spoke..... It *IS* working on my tomtom 720, however not via the newest update....a third party file in which I have in my tomtom, it is a basic text file with only the number 1 in it..... I will speak with pedro to see if I can give instructions in here.
Thank you, now I feel better but I do love to have that feature too... I will wait for your instructions. :cool:
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
4
You need to create a text file support_asr.dat and just put 1 in the file. Then copy it to the ASR directory on your TomTom internal drive. It will enable the icon to allow you to input address. However, you may need to have the North_America map v7.10 to be able to input City and street though voice. I can only input street number before I upgraded to v7.10.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
220
You need to create a text file support_asr.dat and just put 1 in the file. Then copy it to the ASR directory on your TomTom internal drive. It will enable the icon to allow you to input address. However, you may need to have the North_America map v7.10 to be able to input City and street though voice. I can only input street number before I upgraded to v7.10.
you are right on the number.... I am not sure if the info is welcomed in open forums here...but you beat me to the instructions before I could obtain permission.


make sure you go to the "use latest map" in the FILE menu on the Home 2.1....
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
60
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 720
You need to create a text file support_asr.dat and just put 1 in the file. Then copy it to the ASR directory on your TomTom internal drive. It will enable the icon to allow you to input address. However, you may need to have the North_America map v7.10 to be able to input City and street though voice. I can only input street number before I upgraded to v7.10.
Works for me! :D
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
5
Where can i Download GO 720 firmware version 7.221

Can some one help me with the link or site to download firmware version 7.221?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
66
you are right on the number.... I am not sure if the info is welcomed in open forums here...but you beat me to the instructions before I could obtain permission.


make sure you go to the "use latest map" in the FILE menu on the Home 2.1....
As much as TT has jacked us all around, this should be open information.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top