TomTom Go 720 new firmware 7.221

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by sam0329, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    Hi guys,

    Just updated to firmware 7.221 like... a min ago. Dont know what it fixed yet but we will find out :rolleyes:
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    just did it....voice input is working....:)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sam0329

    skealo

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Skealo wonders where you got it? Skealo's Tomtom home says nothing is available and I'm runnin 7.220... Skealo's really excited to get voice input.... Will that mean we can enter the address by speaking?

    Thanks
    The Skealo
     
    skealo, Nov 29, 2007
    #3
  4. sam0329

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Is that right? They included voice input on the 720?
     
    digital-flex, Nov 29, 2007
    #4
  5. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmmm, maybe it has something to do with a file called

    support_asr.dat


    it appears to be a text file renamed to that, the only contents as viewed in notepad is the number 1?

    In any case, voice input is working on my 720.
     
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #5
  6. sam0329

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Interesting, well that is certainly an upgrade for the North American units.
     
    digital-flex, Nov 29, 2007
    #6
  7. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    also more interesting is that my streets near my home are actually easier to locate with the voice input..... in Palmdale, you have streets like


    ave r-10
    avenue r4
    e avenue r-5




    there is no logical way those streets are listed, and youve got a-z basically in east and west, with subsections of each "ie: R, then R1-R12"

    confusing when you try type it, but with speech its right on the number.
     
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #7
  8. sam0329

    skealo

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sam, does your voice input work now?

    The Skealo
     
    skealo, Nov 29, 2007
    #8
  9. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    can someone tell me where I can find the speech input?? Or how to activate it? Thank you.
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #9
  10. sam0329

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,046
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Really!!??

    Now, all I need to know is how to leave work early, run home, dl the new firmware and try it! :) :)
     
    dhn, Nov 29, 2007
    #10
  11. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720

    Where can I find that feature? Thanks :confused:
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #11
  12. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    NAVIGATE TO> SPOKEN DIALOUGE
     
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #12
  13. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720

    I dont have that options at all?? :confused:
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #13
  14. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    My apologies...

    I may have mis-spoke..... It *IS* working on my tomtom 720, however not via the newest update....a third party file in which I have in my tomtom, it is a basic text file with only the number 1 in it..... I will speak with pedro to see if I can give instructions in here.
     
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #14
  15. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    Thank you, now I feel better but I do love to have that feature too... I will wait for your instructions. :cool:
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #15
  16. sam0329

    Fred1234

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need to create a text file support_asr.dat and just put 1 in the file. Then copy it to the ASR directory on your TomTom internal drive. It will enable the icon to allow you to input address. However, you may need to have the North_America map v7.10 to be able to input City and street though voice. I can only input street number before I upgraded to v7.10.
     
    Fred1234, Nov 29, 2007
    #16
    1 person likes this.
  17. sam0329

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    you are right on the number.... I am not sure if the info is welcomed in open forums here...but you beat me to the instructions before I could obtain permission.


    make sure you go to the "use latest map" in the FILE menu on the Home 2.1....
     
    mikecwest, Nov 29, 2007
    #17
  18. sam0329

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    Works for me! :D
     
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #18
  19. sam0329

    kmprakashbabu

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can i Download GO 720 firmware version 7.221

    Can some one help me with the link or site to download firmware version 7.221?
     
    kmprakashbabu, Nov 29, 2007
    #19
  20. sam0329

    a4000

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    As much as TT has jacked us all around, this should be open information.
     
    a4000, Nov 29, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.