Tomtom Go 720 Mx speed next to current speed

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by ronvanb, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. ronvanb

    ronvanb

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    I just purchased this unit 10 days ago and I am getting near the deadline to return the unit. In the screen for changing the "status bar" there is a box you can check so that current speed will be displayed next to max speed. This worked on my One XL-s, but I checked the box and my GO 720 doesn't display max speed. Does anybody elses? Is mine defective and should I exchange it? I have upgraded to version 8.something, but it still doen't show max speed or beep with a warning. Other than that I love this unit.

    Thanks,
    Ron
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
    ronvanb, Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ronvanb

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    I have a GO 720 & that feature works for me. It's possible that the map in yours doesn't have the same speed limit data pre-loaded, as your old GPS did.

    Try this:
    1) make sure that both the Speed Limit & Max Limit Next To options are selected under Status Bar Prefs
    2) manually set the speed limit on a section of street that you travel frequently--say somewhere in your neighborhood
    3) operate your TomTom on that street & observe the status bar

    Something else to try:
    Attempt to change the speed limit on a road which your previous GPS displayed a Max Limit. The actual number-entry screen should display the road's current speed limit at the top (if it's been set). If it's blank, then there's no speed data for that road in your GO's map.


    I've had to manually enter most of the roads in my area. The only one which came preloaded was the 65 mph bypass around a near-by city.

    R?
     
    Ricochet, Oct 17, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. ryanpa
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,963
    digital-flex
    Nov 28, 2007
  2. jdholman

    TomTom 720 Occasional Inaccuracies with Current GPS Position

    jdholman, Feb 17, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    3,554
    gatorguy
    Oct 15, 2009
  3. sageuvagony

    Going to purchase 720 next week. Do they still shut down?

    sageuvagony, Oct 22, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,906
    bultman37
    Oct 23, 2008
  4. ionphoenix

    next turn street names at the bottom of 720

    ionphoenix, Apr 3, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    942
  5. clmckinley

    Show next 2 (or more) turns on 720?

    clmckinley, Aug 2, 2009, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    758
    cuckoo
    Aug 2, 2009
  6. swb

    show current speed and IQ speed?

    swb, Aug 2, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,705
    cputrdoc
    Aug 28, 2009
  7. Peer

    Go 510 won't show Speed and Clock...

    Peer, Nov 14, 2016, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    617
  8. DavidBurns

    Fuse Rating for GO 720

    DavidBurns, Jan 24, 2017, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    689
    canderson
    Jan 26, 2017
Loading...