TomTom Go 700 drive too small

Hi all.

As a newbie I'll probably get laughed off this forum .... but here goes:

I have a TomTom G0 700 that has served me really well and I really am not inclined to replace it yet. I just updated my map yesterday - I have the Western and Central Europe maps - and my hard drive is too small - I've been forced to use the zoning facility that TomTom thoughtfully provides.

I prefer to have all my maps on the device if possible. Can anyone please point me to a resource or link that will give me step by step instructions on how to replace my drive with a bigger one or with a solid state drive? I was really impressed with the document posted on dismantling and reassembling the 910 ..... but the GO 700 looks to be very different!

Any help gratefully received.
Thanks,
John

I've had my GO700 apart a couple of times (first time out of curiosity -- there are posts/pics of it way back when this forum/site first started), most recently to replace the battery. Each time I've taken it apart, I haven't been able to find the hard drive. I've only taken it apart as far as I needed to to fix or replace something, but I highly suspect that the hard drive on it is like soldered to the main board rather than something that you can just unplug and replace with something of a higher capacity. I have never even been able to find pictures of the GO700 hard drive, even on TomTom repair websites. I have been able to find 20GB GO910 hard drives, but they look like nothing I've seen on the inside of my GO700.

If you find out anything more, I hope you'll come back an update this thread.

Edit: Nevermind! I found something more (I think you did, too, in another thread). It's just a microdrive that's easily replaceable with a standard CF card. Instructions for how to do it are HERE.

Last edited:
TomTom Go Drive too small

Hi Chris,