TomTom Application on XL 340S

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. rogerbryant

    rogerbryant

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone tell me how large the application on my device should be? I am specifically looking for 9.061
    Thanks
     
    rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rogerbryant

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,985
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Why do you feel you need that application on the 340?
     
    dhn, Jun 24, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rogerbryant

    rogerbryant

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know the answer to the question?
     
    rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011
    #3
  4. rogerbryant

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,985
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If you want the link, I can provide it. If you install it, and it's not meant for your model, you may have issues that can't be resolved.

    The extracted size of all files is 25.6 mb
     
    dhn, Jun 24, 2011
    #4
  5. rogerbryant

    rogerbryant

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. When I did a map update, TomTom Home said that I needed 2 application updates, 9.026 and 9.061. After doing these (numerous time, with TomTom support on the phone) my device says that I have 9.061 installed, the machine seems to work fine, but the application file shows onlyt 133.3 MB. TomTom has no good explanation other than "it's supposed to be this way".

    Again, thanks for your help.
     
    rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011
    #5
  6. rogerbryant

    rogerbryant

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    dhn,

    I meant to say the installed application file is shown in TomTom Home to be 13.3 MB,.

    Roger
     
    rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011
    #6
  7. rogerbryant

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,985
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Other stuff that makes up the total application include the data in the loquendo folder, the stuff going into the license folder, etc. So that's where the additional mb may have gone.

    The bottom line is if the unit is functioning ok, then you shouldn't worry too much.

    DO make an Explorer backup of your unit's contents, though.
     
    dhn, Jun 24, 2011
    #7
  8. rogerbryant

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Don't trust version numbers or installed file sizes that Home shows on screen as they are often wrong, always use the device to see what version is installed and the available capacity, even using the device emulator from with the Home software can produce rather bizzare results - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jun 24, 2011
    #8
  9. rogerbryant

    rogerbryant

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dhn, I can see how a backup outside of TomTom Home could be very useful.
     
    rogerbryant, Jun 24, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.